Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: RS6000 Install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    RS6000 Install

    All,

    I got 3 ea. RS6000 7046 B50 Rack mount servers today; price was right.

    All were dedicated appliace boxes so none of the boxes had video cards and even install of U-Server require video, until totally config'd and you can remote in.

    Anyway, put in some video cards and can not get any video output.

    Wonder if anyone has tackled one of these before and can help?

    Thanks!

    OMR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    RS6000 Install: Video Problem

    All,

    After some research found the acceptable VICs for the B50-RS6000 are:
    1. IBM POWER GXT130P Graphics Accelerator
    2. HIS ATi Radeon 9250 128MB PCI Video Card
    3. Jaton GeForce MX4000, (128 MB) PCI Video Card
    4. Evga e-GeForce FX 5200 128 MB DDR PCI Graphics Card


    I also found out the boxes I purchased were POS dedicated appliances running Kash-N-Karry POS, so have no idea if the existing SW has the video drivers stripped out, which could also explain why no video.

    I found a post at:

    http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=346206

    which indicates a serial connect to video may be needed. If that is the case I need instructions on this, though I know the principle, have not done that is over 20 years, so forgot already.

    One of the units has a bad CD, which is SCSI, but so far that is the only component I found to be bad.

    Sure can use some help on this.

    Thanks!

    OMR

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    Re: RS6000 Install

    All,

    Does anyone know anything about this box or is there a better place/forum to post at?

    Help!!!

    OMR

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    Re: RS6000 Install

    All,

    OK, Guy on IRC at #ubuntu says I need null modem cable to connect via TTY on com1/com2. Do not have here @ house, but have @ shop, so getting today to see if I can see the box that way.

    I understand (my laptop is WinXP) I use TelNet to see the box.

    Am I right?

    OMR

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    More RS6000 Information

    All,

    Trying install of 8.04 on RS6000-B50 2U Rack Mount server.

    This box is hard to find online as there are sooo many models of the RS6000-B50. The 2U Rack Mount unit is a 7046-B50, but that model also had tower units as well. The hardware is different for the tower units as they hold more cards and drives. The 2U Rack Mount unit only holds 2 SCSI drives (mine are 18GB). It also only hold 2 PCI cards, where the tower holds 8-10. CD-ROM is SCSI, has one floppy, on board NIC, MAU port, COM1, COM2, some sort of S-Video connector and audio codec jacks. Looking for rear end photo to show.

    Thanks!

    OMR

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: RS6000 Install

    Hi ,i am not sure if this would be usefull for you:
    i got ubuntu-server 6.06 LTS running on my rs6000 43p-150.
    As i know this is the same hardware as the b50 .
    ubuntu-server boots from the cd. The installer starts automatically, but you have to use the expert or advanced - installation to be able to select the right kernel ; use the powerpc kernel then installer should work fine.

    I did not get the X window running since my S3 Trio is not well supported . But the radeon should work fine.
    On the other hand you won't need X on a server

    Hope this helps a little.

    Regards
    ... Wolfgang

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    More: RS6000 Install

    Quote Originally Posted by wopeer View Post
    Hi ,i am not sure if this would be usefull for you:
    i got ubuntu-server 6.06 LTS running on my rs6000 43p-150.
    As i know this is the same hardware as the b50 .
    ubuntu-server boots from the cd. The installer starts automatically, but you have to use the expert or advanced - installation to be able to select the right kernel ; use the powerpc kernel then installer should work fine.

    I did not get the X window running since my S3 Trio is not well supported . But the radeon should work fine.
    On the other hand you won't need X on a server

    Hope this helps a little.

    Regards
    ... Wolfgang
    W,

    To the first box I added a Jaton TVGA9685 VIC and added the 512MB of RAM from the 3rd box (one with broken CD), but get video only on COM1, with null modem cable on TTY screen (PUTTY on laptop), calling this my primary box. I need to know what instruction to run from the command line there to get the Ubuntu CD to kick as it does not appear to do so natively or it would install the video drivers and I would get video from the VIC.

    The second box I added a Diamond Stealth 3D 2000 VIC but it only has the 512MB of RAM it came with. Again COM1 shows the command line, but nothing from VIC when trying to boot from CD.

    If you know what command is needed and/or how to get box to install the video drivers, then I can get past my install issues and work from video screen like normal install.

    Anyway that is current status on this.

    Thanks!

    OMR
    Last edited by OldManRiver; May 16th, 2009 at 02:16 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    Screen output

    W,

    I get this screen output:
    Code:
         memory      keyboard     network      scsi      speaker
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000                                 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000       STARTING SOFTWARE         RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000         PLEASE WAIT...          RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000                                 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000 RS/6000
    
    
    BOOTP: Waiting 60 seconds for Spanning Tree
    
    BOOTP: do-BOOTP-req failed: 0
    BOOTP: do-BOOTP-req failed: 1
    BOOTP: do-BOOTP-req failed: 2
    BOOTP: do-BOOTP-req failed: 3
    BOOTP: do-BOOTP-req failed: 4
    BOOTP ERROR: BOOTP request failed, ABORT
            !20A80004 !
    If I insert the software recovery disk, I get past this, but the system never recognizes my Unbuntu CD. I think it is because the CD in the machine is old one no greater than 4X and Ubuntu CD is written at 8X. Guess I need to re-burn the CD on slower unit.

    What do you think?

    OMR
    Last edited by OldManRiver; May 16th, 2009 at 08:02 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    Re: RS6000 Install

    Help Please

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    510

    Re: RS6000 Install

    All,

    Found several resources searching, but this link:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/8.04/install...supported.html

    Definitely says Ubuntu supports the RS6000 B50, but shows it under "CHRP subarchitecture", which is something to do with the boot files needed for the B50 bios to recognize the CD as bootable.

    Does anyone know where the CHRP install distro resides?

    Thanks!

    OMR

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •