Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    109

    Unhappy Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Since changing from Fedora 9 to Ubuntu 7.1, I can't set up my laptop wireless connection.
    My desktop is hardwired and works OK in Fedora 10
    This is what I'm getting:

    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ sudo iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"V1_n0rm" Nickname:"HERMES I"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: 00:02:CF:72:0F:C6
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Sensitivity:1/3
    Retry limit:4 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption key:3537-5653-50 Security modepen
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality=38/92 Signal level=-59 dBm Noise level=-97 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:3 Rx invalid frag:1
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ sudo ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 000:59:93:4A:CE
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:2D:00:55:66
    inet addr:192.168.1.35 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::202:2dff:fe00:5566/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:15 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:44 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1296 (1.2 KB) TX bytes:7864 (7.6 KB)
    Interrupt:3 Base address:0x180

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:704 (704.0 b) TX bytes:704 (704.0 b)


    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    iface eth1 inet static
    address 192.168.1.35
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    wireless-key 57VSP
    wireless-essid V1_n0rm

    auto eth1

    Pings:

    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ sudo ping -c 4 192.168.1.35 (My device)
    PING 192.168.1.35 (192.168.1.35) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.35: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.35: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.35: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.057 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.35: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.057 ms

    --- 192.168.1.35 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2998ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.054/0.060/0.074/0.011 ms


    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ sudo ping -c 4 127.0.0.1 (Loopback)
    PING 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.076 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.058 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.053 ms

    --- 127.0.0.1 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2997ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.053/0.060/0.076/0.010 ms


    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ sudo ping -c 4 192.168.1.1 (My router)
    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=254 time=2.68 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=254 time=2.55 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=254 time=2.70 ms

    --- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 3 received, 25% packet loss, time 3008ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 2.552/2.648/2.706/0.090 ms
    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$

    Can't ping beyond this.
    Can anyone interpret these results and point me in the right direction, please?
    norm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New York
    Beans
    2,649
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Why dont you try the latest release of Ubuntu? 8.10
    My Launchpad
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    My Wiki Page

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    22,478
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Please open a terminal and try:
    Code:
    echo "nameserver 192.168.1.1" | sudo tee /etc/resolv.conf
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    Please let us know.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    109

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    Please open a terminal and try:
    Code:
    echo "nameserver 192.168.1.1" | sudo tee /etc/resolv.conf
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    Please let us know.

    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ echo "nameserver 192.168.1.1" | sudo tee /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.1.1

    compaq@compaq-laptop:~$ ping -c3 www.google.com
    PING www.l.google.com (209.85.227.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from wy-in-f147.google.com (209.85.227.147): icmp_seq=1 ttl=237 time=30.4 ms
    64 bytes from wy-in-f147.google.com (209.85.227.147): icmp_seq=2 ttl=237 time=30.2 ms
    64 bytes from wy-in-f147.google.com (209.85.227.147): icmp_seq=3 ttl=237 time=31.3 ms

    --- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1998ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 30.219/30.651/31.311/0.494 ms

    Thanks for your interest. Now where?
    norm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    109

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    "Thanks for your interest. Now where?
    norm[/QUOTE]

    All working OK, but don't understand what I've done!!!
    Once again, many thanks
    norm

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    22,478
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    You are very welcome. What you did was populate your /etc/resolv.conf file. This file tells your system where to get translations from names, www.google.com, for example, to numbers, such as 209.85.227.147.

    If your computer uses DHCP, when it gets an IP address from the router or other access point, it also gets DNS nameservers. However, if you set up a static IP address, you, not the router, are expected to provide DNS details. All we did, in this case, was tell your computer to use the router for DNS information. I just used a shortcut, 'sudo tee' etc., rather than write to the file, proofread, save and close a text editor.

    I am glad your system is working well now.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Hello

    I know there has been a while since this topic was made but I have installed Ubuntu 9.04 two days ago and have a similar problem with my wireless network.

    I am not able to see the wireless network at home.. I am able to see it through my mobile phone or my fathers computer which runs windows vista but not from ubuntu.. It has WEP protection (128bit) and DHCP enabled.

    Could you people pls help me find why it won't see the wireless network?

    Thanks in advance

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    22,478
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Quote Originally Posted by Take0n View Post
    Hello

    I know there has been a while since this topic was made but I have installed Ubuntu 9.04 two days ago and have a similar problem with my wireless network.

    I am not able to see the wireless network at home.. I am able to see it through my mobile phone or my fathers computer which runs windows vista but not from ubuntu.. It has WEP protection (128bit) and DHCP enabled.

    Could you people pls help me find why it won't see the wireless network?

    Thanks in advance
    Please start a new thread and post the result of these terminal commands:
    Code:
    sudo lshw -C network
    iwconfig
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Can you help mke with this please?

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.
    eth0 no wireless extensions.
    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.
    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.432 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=20 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
    pan0 no wireless extensions.
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    22,478
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't set up wireless since changing OS

    Please start a new thread.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •