Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stats and Graphing for the Mathematically disinclined

Beans

Stats and Graphing for the Mathematically disinclined

I was wondering what the best programs to use for those social, behavioral, and heath researchers who have a weak math and computer science background.

I am a PhD student in audiology and am using OpenOffice as my word processor with Bibus as my referencer. This combo seems to be workin good so far.

For stats, I have installed OpenStat through Wine which seems like a great alternative to SPSS. PSPP has a nice interface but is far too limited. The R GUI, RKWard, looks nice but it just doesnt seem quite as intuitive for persons with an SPSS background.

For graphing, I have been using OpenOffice. I may try Gnumeric but I'm guessing its graphs will look about the same. I liked RLPlot but it is kinda buggy. I havent had time to fully explore Grace yet.

I realize that programs like R and GnuPlot are superior for those that are proficient with them but I am more interested in hearing about experiences with programs that have nice, intuitive GUIs.

Any thoughts or comments?

Beans

Re: Stats and Graphing for the Mathematically disinclined

It is really hard to make graphs with a gui (you pretty much have to enter programming input of some sort) unless your using a spreadsheet program in my opinion, gnuplot is really easy to learn (the basics) I know windows has a gui for it but its basically the same as the command line you get in linux.

Your best bets are probably OOo calc or gnumeric, though I don't have experience with many gui software

I'm surprised you get away with using openoffice writer rather than \LaTeX\

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

For better or worse there's a tradeoff between control and ease of use.

A speadsheet program (if it can graph what you want . . . might be a big if) is probably the `easiest' or at least the most gui'ed plot maker.