Thread: ext4 option "data=writeback" makes breaks my system

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

ext4 option "data=writeback" makes breaks my system

Hi there,
    I'm new to linux so please forgive me if my questions are kinda "naive" or stupid!
    I've read an article on how to speed-up ext4 by using the following options when mounting:
    Code:
    defaults,data=writeback,noatime,barrier=0,extents,journal_checksum
    This is just a test pc, not my main pc so I don't mind the instability issues or the consequences of enabling writeback cache.
    All other options work fine however when I add data=writeback in the /etc/fstab for my root partition the system doesn't boot with the following error:
    Code:
    Could not start the X server due to some internal error. blabla, please restart gdm when the problem is corrected
    Any ideas on how to correct this and enable writeback cache?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: ext4 option "data=writeback" makes breaks my system

wow can't believe how popular ubuntu forums are! In just a couple of hrs my thread went to page 6!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Are you sure the two are related? If you tried to mount root with the wrong journal mode, you have problems very early (much earlier than trying to start gdm). Or, possibly, you've already run into the infamous ext4 bug where it zeros out files on a crash and some needed file has been zeroed.
    Don't try to make something "fast" until you are able to quantify "slow".

Beans

I second sdennie, it looks more like you are having a display driver issue, than a filesystem issue.

Are you able to login via the console? Press Alt+Ctrl+F1 and login with your name and password.

Then type in:
    Code:
    sudo shutdown now
    You'll reach a new screen with several options.

Choose the one that says "Fix X". Then select the "Continue with Normal Boot".

Regards
    Iain

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release