Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: web browsers suddenly close on me

Beans

Lightbulb web browsers suddenly close on me

i am new to ubuntu and dont know much, so if replies can be written out as simple to read as possible, that would be greatly appreciated. i do have an okay knowledge of using the terminal basic ubuntu-ness.
    web browsers keep suddenly closing on me, and it started off annoying, and has gotten to be a problem. i tried downloading and using differant browsers like seamonkey, but found the same problem. it actually just suddenly exxited out and i restored it luckily to find that this txt is still here. they just suddenly close out..

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: web browsers suddenly close on me

There's little you can do unless a Firefox extesion is the cause. You can disable all extensions and bring them back one at a time. There are some browser bugs which can cause a crash regardless of extensions. I've changed to Epiphany which uses the same Gecko rendering engine as Firefox. It only occasionaly crashs for me when closing a tab. It also restarts much faster than Firefox or Seamonkey. Being faster and more stable are where Epiphany wins. Since the occassional crash only happens when closing a tab I don't loose anything and Epiphany restarts exactly where it would be if the tab just closed.

If the browser crashed when starting you could delete the configuration files or try starting the browser on the command line with a text file argument which would clear out some elements of the configuration.
    Thank a veteran -- George 8)
    Internet Coach & Writer
    Personal Blog -- 3 Joes' Blog

Beans
    Distro

Have you tried Opera? I switched to it after having the same problem with Firefox.

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by jwbrase View Post
    Have you tried Opera? I switched to it after having the same problem with Firefox.