Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to install Vulture's Eye for a complete beginner

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Question how to install Vulture's Eye for a complete beginner

I already know that this thread exists.http://www.ubuntugeek.com/how-to-ins...in-ubuntu.html
    I am having trouble with the instructions.

I'm stumped by various messages at different times. Fakeroot? su- ? Run message in /usr/local/? I'm asking for hand-holding guidance if you can tolerate assuming that I know *nothing*. I have done things successfully with the terminal before (sudo apt-get install), but I don't know how to switch directories. I don't know the difference between a tr.gz and a .bz and a zip. I vaguely understand how to unpack an archive (package?) but I don't know where to put stuff.

I'd really like to play specifically Vulture's Eye (or Claw), not the text version.

-----------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu Geek says:
    ==Preparing your system
    ==First you need to install the following dependencies

==sudo apt-get install byacc flex libsdl1.2-dev libsdl-image1.2-dev libsdl-mixer1.2-dev libsdl-ttf2.0-dev

==Now you need to download the latest version of Vulture’s from here using the following command in /usr/local/
    ==wget http://www.darkarts.co.za/projects/v..._unix-1.bin.sh

Confusing to me. I don't understand. See output in attached image, according to what I vaguely understood of instruction.

==Now you need to make the script executable using the following command

==chmod +x vultures-2.1.0-full_unix-1.bin.sh

==Now you need to execute the script using the following command

==./vultures-2.1.0-full_unix-1.bin.sh

==A few compilation warnings later, the game is installed in the vulture directory in your home’s. You can play either Vulture’s Eye or Claw.
    ----------------------------------------------