Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dell Optiplex 760's new Ethernet Card too new for HardyHeron

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Boston Massachusetts area
    Beans
    131
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Dell Optiplex 760's new Ethernet Card too new for HardyHeron

    FYI:
    Got a new Dell Optiplex 760 machine with an ethernet card with an Intel Corporation 82567LM-3 Gigabit chip on it.
    After installing Ubuntu 8.04 on it, the machine had no network connectivity.
    No eth0 interface. Just the local interface. No /etc/resolv.conf.
    No IP address.

    [Dell couldn't help me (which is fine) and Dell's Ubuntu (Canonical?) support refused to help me cause I had wiped off the Windows XP that came with the machine and voided the software warranty.
    ]

    Solution:
    Browse to www.intel.com
    search for "82567LM-3 download".
    Download the driver for the Intel® 82567 Gigabit Ethernet Controller.

    gunzip e1000e-0.5.11.2.tar.gz
    tar –xvf e1000e-0.5.11.2.tar
    cd e1000e-0.5.11.2/src
    sudo make install
    (will get get a non-fatal error: something about `cat man`)

    sudo rmmod e1000e;


    sudo insmod /lib/modules/2.6.24-23-generic/kernel/drivers/net/e1000e/e1000e.ko;
    or
    sudo modprobe e1000e;
    or
    for a more permanent solution:
    edit /etc/modules and add:
    e1000e
    Last edited by gmoore777; March 4th, 2009 at 08:31 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Boston Massachusetts area
    Beans
    131
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Dell Optiplex 760's new Ethernet Card too new for HardyHeron

    some additional notes:
    I am running latest and greatest HardyHeron with kernel 2.6.24-23-generic.

    i was experiencing bizarre behaviour with the newly built e1000e.ko driver that I built(see previous note).

    pinging the machine would sometimes result in lost packets, or sometimes host unreachable messages. pinging to this machine was 300 ms, rather than a normal 0.200 ms to other machnines.

    Running firefox on it and displaying it to another machine was fine at first then became atrociously slow.

    I fixed these issue with changing the `make` command to turn off MSI and MSI-X interrupts. (see the ReleaseNotes as provided by Intel that comes with the download, for other CFLAGS and other command line flags)

    sudo make CFLAGS_EXTRA=-DDISABLE_PCI_MSI install

    The machine's connectivity is behaving normal now.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Turin - Italy
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Problem not saved with Dell Optiplex 960's 82567LM-3

    Problem not "fixed"

    Hi,
    I have the same problem with an Optiplex 960 with 82567LM-3 with Jaunty x86_64.
    I follow exactly the above procedure (include e1000e in /etc/modules) but when I reboot the version of driver (lshw -C network) is the old one (0.3.3.3-k6)

    uname -a:
    ... 2.6.28-11-generic #41-Ubuntu ...

    Thank you for any suggestion

    Olivier
    Last edited by barmanoo; April 18th, 2009 at 07:34 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    281
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Dell Optiplex 760's new Ethernet Card too new for HardyHeron

    THANKS!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    281
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Problem not saved with Dell Optiplex 960's 82567LM-3

    Quote Originally Posted by barmanoo View Post
    Problem not "fixed"

    Hi,
    I have the same problem with an Optiplex 960 with 82567LM-3 with Jaunty x86_64.
    I follow exactly the above procedure (include e1000e in /etc/modules) but when I reboot the version of driver (lshw -C network) is the old one (0.3.3.3-k6)

    uname -a:
    ... 2.6.28-11-generic #41-Ubuntu ...

    Thank you for any suggestion

    Olivier
    by using
    Code:
    sudo rmmod e1000e;
    tar –xzvf e1000e-0.5.11.2.tar.gz
    cd e1000e-0.5.11.2/src
    sudo make CFLAGS_EXTRA=-DDISABLE_PCI_MSI install
    sudo modprobe e1000e
    should work, it worked for me, did you forgot to use the rmmod command?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kampala - Uganda
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Dell Optiplex 760's new Ethernet Card too new for HardyHeron

    Thanks a bunch...i had this problem on a Desktop i had setup a system for training the next day!! I wonder what i would have done!!

    You saved me...i can now smile...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    281
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Dell Optiplex 760's new Ethernet Card too new for HardyHeron

    Quote Originally Posted by mnamutso View Post
    Thanks a bunch...i had this problem on a Desktop i had setup a system for training the next day!! I wonder what i would have done!!

    You saved me...i can now smile...
    good to know!! it also saved my day this is why we should be thankful to the community and keep supporting it, then we can make someone elseś day ^-^ thanks gmoore777

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •