Thread: best way to set up a network to share files

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

[Solved] best way to set up a network to share files

This is my first post ever on ubuntu forums, so I'm sorry if I'm asking something exceedingly obvious. I'm completely new to the world of ubuntu, though learning a lot. I suspect there are several possible ways to accomplish what I'm trying to do, so I was hoping that if I laid out a scenario, perhaps someone could help me find the best way to set it up so I'm not chasing my tail with thing that wouldn't work anyways.

I have 3 computers running ubuntu hardy heron in a lab at the school where I work. They are mainly used by students to access the internet and write papers. It is a public lab, so each student be sitting at a different computer each time. Should I set up a shared folder (with sticky bits enabled) on one of the computers and put a desktop link to it in each of the student's Desktop folders?

I also have another desktop ubuntu hardy heron computer in my office. Right now it has no monitor, mouse, or keyboard attached to it. If I want to use it I log into it via my laptop using XDMCP. Would it be better to just set that computer up as a server?

Any links, resources, or suggestions would be helpful. Thanks!
    Last edited by jimmybarcelona; May 4th, 2009 at 09:01 AM. Reason: problem solved

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

Re: best way to set up a network to share files

right click on the desktop and add a quick launcher,
    use this as the command:
    Code:
    nautilus smb://hello-world/
    Replace /hello-world/ with the actual samba share server, if the students click this it will open the PC with the files.
    you could make a account for every student on the server and hand out passwords, so they can safe / access files on the PC without deleting each-others content.

If you need help making accounts or Creating shared folder, just ask.