View Poll Results: Should the forums scrap "Absolute Beginner Talk"?

Voters
72. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

14 19.44%
  • No

58 80.56%
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Should the forums scrap "Absolute Beginner Talk"?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Should the forums scrap "Absolute Beginner Talk"?

i know most of the people are gonna not read this initial post and just vote 'no', but for those of you who do read this, let me explain where im coming from.

everytime i post, like a good little member, i try stick it into a related forum category/sub-forum. unfortunately, it generally either does not get answered, or answered 2 months down the line.

the problem is that, at a wild guesstimation, roughly 60% of posting users just dump their questions in Absolute Beginner Talk. i mean, seriously, when i got through all the threads in Abolsute Beginner Talk, not many questions are from beginners.

in fact, i cant remember which forum staff member, but one of them wrote a post about how he felt that he is no longer as efficient at answering posts as he used to be. his reason, the forum community is advancing their knowledge so quickly that the absolute beginner questions are getting harder and harder.

whilst i understand where he's coming from, i disagree. yes the beginners of last year are no longer beginners, but just this month alone we must have had a few number of beginners registering (hence why the forum community keeps on growing). i honestly believe that the real problem is people posting any type of question, no matter what it relates to, in absolute beginner talk. questions from initial install, device drivers, codecs, networking, security, etc. All of which have their own categories/sub-forums. so why are they posting there? because they know, like i do, that absolute beginner forum is going to be answered first, mostly because people look there to answer questions because they know that most people post in there.