Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    51

    Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Hi,
    I've been using Ubuntu on with an Intel Quad-Core Q6600, but I am currently starting to doubt if all four cores are recognized. I noticed this when I launched Conky and it said that I was trying to monitor more cores than I had. I then went to system monitor and I realized it only shows one core. I checked the BIOS and all four cores are shown and enabled.

    I ran "cat /proc/cpuinfo" :
    Code:
    processor    : 0
    vendor_id    : GenuineIntel
    cpu family    : 6
    model        : 15
    model name    : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz
    stepping    : 11
    cpu MHz        : 2399.950
    cache size    : 4096 KB
    physical id    : 0
    siblings    : 1
    core id        : 0
    cpu cores    : 1
    apicid        : 0
    initial apicid    : 0
    fdiv_bug    : no
    hlt_bug        : no
    f00f_bug    : no
    coma_bug    : no
    fpu        : yes
    fpu_exception    : yes
    cpuid level    : 10
    wp        : yes
    flags        : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc up arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    bogomips    : 4799.90
    clflush size    : 64
    power management:
    I'm not fully sure how to interpret this, but 1 is under cpu cores.

    I'm not certain, but I think this may have something to do with updating from 8.04 to 8.10. After the upgrade I noticed the system was slower than before and now I've just noticed what I mentioned above. Another possibility would be that I recently installed Windows on a separate partition. Windows is also pretty slow, but it isn't necessary to me so I don't really mind. Could any of these things be what's causing my problem?

    Is there a way to check if Ubuntu recognizes my processor, and if not how can I fix this?
    Last edited by walawa; February 7th, 2009 at 05:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,900
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    What is the output of

    Code:
    sudo lshw -class cpu

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    51

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Here's th ouput:
    Code:
    *-cpu                   
           description: CPU
           product: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz
           vendor: Intel Corp.
           physical id: 4
           bus info: cpu@0
           version: 6.15.11
           serial: 0000-06FB-0000-0000-0000-0000
           slot: Socket 775
           size: 600MHz
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 66MHz
           capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx x86-64 constant_tsc up arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
           configuration: id=0
         *-logicalcpu:0
              description: Logical CPU
              physical id: 0.1
              width: 64 bits
              capabilities: logical
         *-logicalcpu:1
              description: Logical CPU
              physical id: 0.2
              width: 64 bits
              capabilities: logical
         *-logicalcpu:2
              description: Logical CPU
              physical id: 0.3
              width: 64 bits
              capabilities: logical
         *-logicalcpu:3
              description: Logical CPU
              physical id: 0.4
              width: 64 bits
              capabilities: logical

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,900
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Well, it sees them there...

    You can install sysstat with:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install systat
    Then run:

    Code:
    mpstat -P ALL
    Which should give you a list of the load of each core.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Beans
    3,264

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Each "core" is listed as a separate processor. So each core only has one core, but there should be four CPUs (CPU0-CPU3)
    Desktop: AMD Athlon64 X2 3600+, Nvidia 8600GT, 3GB RAM, 80GB hd, Windows 7 Beta
    Lappy: Sony Vaio FW-140E, Intel P8400 2.26Ghz, 3GB Ram, 250GB HD, Intel x4500MHD, Windows 7 Beta & Kubuntu 8.10 w/ KDE 4.2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA via Donegal
    Beans
    452
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    "cat /proc/cpu" should list all of your cores. If if it only shows one core then your kernel is only using one core.

    Which kernel & version are you using? The output of "uname -a" will display that info.

    Any recent kernels that Ubuntu should be multi-core/smp aware, so it's possible this is a misconfiguration somewhere.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    51

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    mpstat -P ALL:
    Code:
    Linux 2.6.27-9-generic (tristan-desktop) 	07/02/09 	_i686_
    
    01:07:05 PM  CPU   %user   %nice    %sys %iowait    %irq   %soft  %steal   %idle    intr/s
    01:07:05 PM  all   19.38    0.11    3.88    1.59    0.31    0.18    0.00   74.55    509.53
    01:07:05 PM    0   19.38    0.11    3.88    1.59    0.31    0.18    0.00   74.55    332.08
    uname -a:
    Code:
    Linux tristan-desktop 2.6.27-9-generic #1 SMP Thu Nov 20 21:57:00 UTC 2008 i686 GNU/Linux
    The output of "cat /proc/cpu" is "no such file or directory". Why is this?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,900
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    Odd...mpstat is only showing one cpu. Perhaps another forum member can post a better tool.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    139

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    its supposed to be:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    51

    Re: Uncertain if quad-core processor recognised

    cat /proc/cpuinfo:
    Code:
    processor	: 0
    vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
    cpu family	: 6
    model		: 15
    model name	: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz
    stepping	: 11
    cpu MHz		: 2399.950
    cache size	: 4096 KB
    physical id	: 0
    siblings	: 1
    core id		: 0
    cpu cores	: 1
    apicid		: 0
    initial apicid	: 0
    fdiv_bug	: no
    hlt_bug		: no
    f00f_bug	: no
    coma_bug	: no
    fpu		: yes
    fpu_exception	: yes
    cpuid level	: 10
    wp		: yes
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc up arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    bogomips	: 4799.90
    clflush size	: 64
    power management:

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •