Thread: Add ATI Radeon 7000 video card

Beans

Question Add ATI Radeon 7000 video card

Please put in plain English, how do I install an ATI Radeon video card in my Ubuntu system. I am already the system with the on board and love the OS. I am not good at using Ubuntu yet, I am at the playing with it stage.
    I do not have a driver disk. I have tried looking for linux versions of the drivers, but no luck, just windows versions. I tried inserting the card and booting, but it comes up with it is running in low resolution mode and then I end up with brown bars across the screen. I was using the built in video, but I need DVI for the new monitor. If it helps at all I am currently using a 17 inch CRT monitor.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Add ATI Radeon 7000 video card

Quote Originally Posted by tk05 View Post
    Please put in plain English, how do I install an ATI Radeon video card in my Ubuntu system. I am already the system with the on board and love the OS. I am not good at using Ubuntu yet, I am at the playing with it stage.
    I do not have a driver disk. I have tried looking for linux versions of the drivers, but no luck, just windows versions. I tried inserting the card and booting, but it comes up with it is running in low resolution mode and then I end up with brown bars across the screen. I was using the built in video, but I need DVI for the new monitor. If it helps at all I am currently using a 17 inch CRT monitor.
    Hi and welcome, when you install the graphics card you will need to boot into recovery mode which is usually the second choice from the grub.
    You will be given 4 choices and you need to choose the xfix option. This will hopefully configure your graphics.
    Then you should be give the option to boot normally after the xfix. Hope this helps good luck.

Beans

Thanks, that solved my problem!

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by overdrank View Post