Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PS3 media sever install

Beans

PS3 media sever install

Hello

I'm still very new to ubuntu and was hoping would anyone know how to install the ps3 media server and please go easy I'm still a command line noob

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: PS3 media sever install

If you're talking about a UPnP server to stream music and videos to your PS3, then there are several applications that will do the job. I personally use MediaTomb. It's not fancy, but it's easy to set up and it does the job, and it's in the Ubuntu repositories. uShare and gMediaServer are a couple of other UPnP servers available in the repositories, but I don't know anything about them.

If you're specifically talking about PS3 Media Server, then I can't help much. I looked at it, but it's severely lacking on installation instructions. It also doesn't seem as mature an application as the others.

----------

To set up MediaTomb on Ubuntu to stream media to your PS3:

1) Install MediaTomb. Open the terminal and type "sudo apt-get install mediatomb".

2) Run MediaTomb once to create the configuration file. Type "mediatomb". Wait for the output to stop -- it should give you a URL for connecting to MediaTomb. Press Ctrl-C to stop MediaTomb.

3) Edit the configuration file. Enter the command "gedit ~/.mediatomb/config.xml". Make the following changes:

Find this line:
    Code:
    <protocolInfo extend="no"/><!-- For PS3 support change to "yes" -->
    Change "no" to "yes". Then find the following lines:
    Code:
    <!-- Uncomment the line below for PS3 divx support -->
    <!-- <map from="avi" to="video/divx"/> -->
    Remove "<!--" and "-->" from the second line. Now scroll up to to this line:
    Code:
    <extension-mimetype ignore-unknown="no">
    Directly below that line, paste these lines:
    Code:
    <map from="avi" to="video/x-divx"/> 
    <map from="divx" to="video/x-divx"/>
    Save and exit.