Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ubuntu intrepid live-cd

Beans

Question ubuntu intrepid live-cd

First, just in case, I appologize for any grammatical errors. English isn't my mother tongue. And I appologize for perhaps not being able to give accurate information since I'm new to linux.

I've downloaded and burned the intrepid version of the live cd. Now I am trying to get it to work on my broken (no idea of the reason) eMac. I am not intrested in installing it on the harddrive. I'm already using ubuntu on my pc laptop. The reason I'm trying this on the eMac is that I want to find a way to save the info I have on it.

Ok, I get that far that I can choose the type: live, live cd powerpc and so on. I have tested several of those. No-splas versions seems to get me longest. It's actually loading and I get those lines on the screen where it says, OK, after loading different things. I don't rememember actually what it says, but I get lots of lines with text ending OK.

Then I can hear the cd working but after that, screen just goes black and nothing more happens.

I hope you guys can help me. Thanks in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: ubuntu intrepid live-cd

I don't believe there is a Live version of Intrepid out for the PPC macs. You'll probably have to use the Hardy Heron (8.04) live disc to boot up and save your files.

Check the sticky at the top of this "Apple Users" forum section for the places to find the ISO's.

Beans

Oh sorry about that. It's the 8.04 one. I thought that was a the intrepid one.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Oh. Try hitting tab at the first boot prompt to see your different options. I believe you should be able to type
    Code:
    Live-nosplash
    to boot without the initial GUI that can cause issues on some computers.

Beans