Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53

Thread: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    All, I have been chasing this thing for a while, it appears there are a number of people trying to get Ubuntu on their SC3's. I just haven't found anyone that has succeeded. A quick search on these forums gives these threads:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...=kohjinsha+sc3
    no responses

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...=kohjinsha+sc3
    again no responses

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...=kohjinsha+sc3
    no resolution

    I've also found some Japanese sites:
    http://www31.atwiki.jp/d4linux/pages...ml#id_275847c0
    this is actually for a Sharp/Willcom D4 but has similar hardware

    http://whitesc3.blog7.fc2.com/blog-date-200808.html
    this guy uses grub for dos

    http://d.hatena.ne.jp/yamato-y/
    This guy looks like he chainloads from vista bootloader

    OK, so here is the issue, I am trying to install using 8.04.2 (actually a custom liveCD from http://mockety.zapto.org/ubuntu-ja-8...h-20090118.iso for the D4 it gives you the correct screen resolution 1024x600) This custom cd is in Japanese, but it also has a modified grub/menu.lst that includes:
    irqpoll all_generic_ide
    That last line is required for the live cd to "see" the hard disk.

    So, I have tried a whole bunch of distros and they all have the same symptoms. Since, the SC3 doesn't have a DVD Drive, I am using unetbootin to load it on to a bootable USB Drive. With the irqpoll all_generic_ide line in grub/menu.lst the hard drive shows in the liveCD environment as /dev/sdaX. You can install from the liveCD. Ensure that you install grub at the end. However, on reboot, the grub boot menu shows up, select any item in the menu, add the irqpoll all_generic_ide to it, then click "b", and it immediately goes to a blank screen with a blinking cursor in the upper left had corner. The other thing I have tried is boot with the liveCD, then at the grub menu select boot from first hard drive. That gets it moving but it hangs on detecting the hard drives. For some reason it is picking up a sdb and an sdc when i only have a USB drive and a hard drive so you would think it should only have a sda and sdb?

    This netbook has a Poulsbo Chipset SCH 500M Onboard Graphics and Atom proc. and an ATA hard drive. Which for some reason is not supported in Intrepid.

    Also, when I tried the Ubuntu-mobile Menlow image, it overwrote my windows XP partitions, (should have looked a little closer before installing oops) so chainloading from windows won't work either...

    Anyone with an SC3 that has had success please let me know how you did it!!!

    Thanks,
    DoTheDog
    Last edited by dothedog; February 3rd, 2009 at 06:31 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Beans
    3,396
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    However, on reboot, the grub boot menu shows up, select any item in the menu, and it immediately goes to a blank screen with a blinking cursor in the upper left had corner.
    At the grub menu, highlight a menu item, and instead of pressing 'return' press 'e' for edit. Select the kernel line, press 'e' again, and add the same kernel parameters to the end of the line that you used to get the Live CD to work (irqpoll and all_generic_ide). After editing the line, press 'return' to save it, the 'b' to boot. See if that makes a difference.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    thanks for the reply. Yeah I kind of mis-typed that. I have changed the grub/menu.lst on the hard drive to include the irqpoll all_generic_ide. It does the same thing. Just blank screen and blinking cursor in the upper left corner.

    I also just tried booting to the USB stick then selecting "Boot from first Hard disk", editing the kernel params and booting. It actually starts booting then ends with:
    Attached scsi generic sg2 type 0
    Done.
    Check root= bootarg cat /proc/modules ls /dev
    ALERT! Does not exist. Dropping to shell!

    and I get an initramfs prompt...

    Ok, I just got it to boot from the USB Stick "Boot from first Hard disk". the line originally looked like this:
    /ubnkern initrd=/ubninit -
    I added irqpoll all_generic_ide root=/dev/sda1 to it and it booted!

    the whole line looks like this:
    /ubnkern initrd=/ubninit irqpoll all_generic_ide root=/dev/sda1 -

    Now I have to figure out how to boot this thing without the USB Stick...
    Last edited by dothedog; February 3rd, 2009 at 06:58 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    Ok, since I can boot to the installed OS with the USB stick, I tried making the same changes to boot/grub/menu.lst. So I changed the "kernel" record from root=UUID=lotsoflettersandnumbers to root=/dev/sda1.

    Still no love.

    Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    When I boot from the USB stick, even though it says boot from the first hard drive, it is actually booting the /ubnkern and /ubninit so I guess what it's not doing when booting from the hard drive with no USB is it can't find the kernel and initrd files?

    Here is the record in the menu.lst
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-22-ws016sh ro irqpoll all_generic_ide root=/dev/sda1
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-22-ws016sh

    Those files do exist in the /boot directory.

    Any ideas why grub wouldn't be able to find them?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Beans
    3,396
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    Maybe the root statement is wrong (the grub root I mean, not the kernel root). You can try different root arguments like (hd1,0) to see. To do it more systematically, you can boot grub, and press 'c' to get a grub command line. On the command line you can do 'geometry (hd0)' to see which disk grub is calling (hd0), if you can figure that out from the disk geometry.
    Last edited by dstew; February 3rd, 2009 at 08:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    dstew,
    Thanks for the reply. Ok, when in the "boot from first hard disk" environment the
    grub> geometry (hd0)
    returns
    what looks like the correct disk 2 ext3 partitions and 1 swap and it says that it is /dev/sda which is what I thought.

    When booting and at the grub menu, I enter "c" and type geometry (hd0)
    it returns the correct disk, all 3 partitions but calls it LBA.

    DoTheDog

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Beans
    3,396
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    The LBA might be a clue. It means your BIOS is set to address the disk in the LBA fashion. If the BIOS is working correctly, grub should be able to do LBA. However, from your description of your problems with accessing the disk using the Linux kernel (you needed to use all_generic_ide, correct?) it might be that the BIOS has some non-standard activity in LBA mode that is messing up grub (and the Linux kernel too).

    If you can, go into the BIOS and see if you can change the disk addressing system to CHS or some other "legacy" mode.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    dstew,
    The bios on this thing is super simple. You can barely change the time in it No IDE settings that I could find. I think the problem is the Poulsbo/Menlow chipset is too new. It drives the video, IDE, etc. I am not sure why you need the all_generic_ide. That is like an old IDE driver right?

    Any other ideas?

    DoTheDog
    Last edited by dothedog; February 4th, 2009 at 02:58 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Ubuntu on Kohjinsha SC3 Again

    Any SC3 owners out there that have a working Ubuntu installation?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •