Thread: OpenGL programming on Ubuntu

Beans

Unhappy OpenGL programming on Ubuntu

Hi everyone, I am new to using/programming on linux, have been using WinXP for 5yrs, I use the VC++ 2008 Express IDE on Windows. I came to know tat GCC is the compiler of choice for linux, anyway i need clear, detailed advise on compiling & developing C/C++ Based-OpenGL programs on ubuntu. I am poking around ubuntu for the last 6days without getting anything working, I am nearly depressed plz help.

Five Questions:-

1.How Can I set the environment variables for ubuntu & GCC?

2.Where can i get the OpenGL headers, libraries for ubuntu?

3.How to setup my dev environment under ubuntu? ( header/library file dirs )

4.How to compile simple GLUT-Based OpenGL Programs under ubuntu?

5.How to compile full-blown X11-Native windowing-based OpenGL programs on ubuntu?

I thought SDL would be great on linux, but in their linux-downloads section there are only RPM-packages, where are the .DEB packages?

I'd be very very thankful & happy if u can help me out atleast with some questions.

Thank You very much for your help in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: OpenGL programming on Ubuntu

1. Environment variables are set in a shell with "export name=value". They are not system-wide. They are only inherited by child processes. If you want them to be set for all logins you could set them in /etc/environment. That file is sourced by gdm.
    2. Use the apt-get command to get them. "sudo apt-get install freeglut3-dev libglew1.5-dev" Those have dependencies that will bring in packages like libgl-dev and libglu-dev.
    3. "sudo apt-get install build essential" will get gcc and make. Various packages have "*-dev" and "*-doc" packages for header files and documentation.
    4. "cc -g -o example example.c -lglut -lGL -lGLEW"