Thread: MacBook Unibody and touchpad

Beans

MacBook Unibody and touchpad

I want to thank everyone here for their dedication to all the hard work in making Ubuntu work on the new MacBooks. I have 25 years PC service experience and recently bailed to a Mac, then to Ubuntu so I'm new to both.

I got the basics down doing Ubuntu on two OLPC laptops, then takled the new Apple. There are a lot of threads out there on triple booting and most don't work. I did finally find one that did, got it going and tried following different directions for getting the new MacBook running. A lot of threads have no dates and no reference to which model MacBook. I finally trashed the Ubuntu install and started over using this thread https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MacBook%20Aluminum and it worked wonderfully.

The purpose of my post is that unlike many, I really like the tap feature of the new touchpad,,,, - not having to push down to click. I couldn't find the documentation anywhere to alter the new /etc/hal/fdi/policy/appletouch.fdi file to make that work, so I started playing with it. For all the other lost folks out there change the three lines:

<merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton1" type="string">0</merge>
    <merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton2" type="string">0</merge>
    <merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton3" type="string">0</merge>

to match the click finder line as below:

<merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton1" type="string">1</merge>
    <merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton2" type="string">3</merge>
    <merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton3" type="string">2</merge>

I need to play with some of the other sensitivity settings to my preferences, but this little detail makes me very happy. If this information is elsewhere feel free to delete this post, but I couldn't find it.