Page 21 of 124 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171121 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 210 of 1236

Thread: ALSA Upgrade Script

  1. #201
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Spain
    Beans
    149
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Hi! I've a acer 6930. I've edited /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf and /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base too, adding options snd-hda-intel model=auto but it doesn't work. Also i added options snd-hda-intel model=acer but it doen't work too. I dont know if there's a bug with pulseaudio but i can not mute my speaker with the headphones pluged.

    Any idea??

    Thank you a lot!

    BR.
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Core Venice
    Abit KN8-Ultra
    2x512 DDR400 Dual Channel (Geil kit)
    MSI NX6600GT-TD128
    SB X-FI XM

    ASUS A4K Laptop
    AMD Athlon 64 mobile 3200+
    2*256 DDR 400
    Mobo ASUS Nforce3-150
    Ati Radeon Mobility 9700

  2. #202
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    3

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Hi! First off, the specs:
    Ubuntu 9.04 Beta
    Alsa 1.0.19 (did the driver-snap)
    HP dv9500-series (dv9656eo to be exact)
    ALC268
    NVidia 8600M GS

    Your script worked perfectly on my computer I still have some troubles though. Leaving /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base unmodified (there was no file there) and the sound worked. I want to get audio over HDMI to work however, so, I tried switching between models. No model in 267/268 group seem to be HP, I tried a few, but got pretty much the same results, in some cases the audio seemed a bit choppy.

    After a quick google, I saw someone with a HP-laptop recommending to set the model to auto, so I did. For the first time I get some digital devices in aplay -l aswell as a SPDIF output in aplay -L which is digital. I don't have any optical outputs however.

    Output of alsa -L with model=auto:

    default:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    Default Audio Device
    front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    Front speakers
    surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
    surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
    surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
    iec958:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
    null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)


    output of alsa -l with model=auto

    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC268 Analog [ALC268 Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC268 Digital [ALC268 Digital]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


    That middle digital device wasn't there when the sound worked. (when i had no alsa-base set).
    I've seen HDMI-devices listed here for people successful in enabling audio over HDMI. But I do need a digital device aswell? no?

    /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base commented out:

    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC268 Analog [ALC268 Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    luceat@luceat-laptop:~$ aplay -L
    default:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    Default Audio Device
    front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    Front speakers
    surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
    surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
    surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
    null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)


    /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base commented out:

    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC268 Analog [ALC268 Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


    Yell if you need more logs Cheers!
    Last edited by luceat; April 21st, 2009 at 12:41 AM. Reason: Added logs when not using /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base

  3. #203
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    CA
    Beans
    359
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Hardy user with a Lenovo R61i over here...I'm trying to wrap my head around this one. I'm also using the PPA provided by psyke83 in order to patch PulseAudio, if it means anything...

    I followed the instructions to the letter from this blog post which in turn was referenced in this Launchpad bug report.

    I was able to download ALSA, apply the patch, and build it using the script. Unfortunately, I'm having no luck. Per the logfile:

    Code:
    checking for ALSA… configure: error: Package requirements (alsa >= 1.0.11) were not met:
    
    No package ‘alsa’ found
    
    Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
    installed software in a non-standard prefix.
    
    Alternatively, you may set the environment variables ALSA_CFLAGS
    and ALSA_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
    See the pkg-config man page for more details.
    
    alsa-plugins-1.0.19 configure failed
    Any ideas?
    Last edited by AlphaMack; April 21st, 2009 at 09:06 AM.

  4. #204
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    202
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Hi! My specs:
    Ubuntu 9.04 Beta
    Alsa 1.0.19 (driver-snap)
    ACER 6930G
    ALC888
    NVidia 9600 GT

    Your script worked perfectly on my computer but I still have some troubles though.
    - every boot, i don't have sound, restarting alsasound twice it fix my problem
    - in alsa-base.conf i have options snd-hda-intel=acer, all works fine (frontal + subwoofer speaker) but i have noise with internal mic

  5. #205
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lake Wales, FL USA
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY! FIXED MY SPIDIF ON HDMI! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

    Now to fix dual screens, I had it fine on Ubuntu but cant figure it out on Kubuntu

  6. #206
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Nagoya, Japan
    Beans
    343
    Distro
    Xubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    I have a STAC9221 sound card and it worked without any problem after installing alsa with your script and setting up "options snd-hda-intel model=ref" in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base (although I'm not sure if it was necessary).

    Thank you!
    Ubuntu 8.10 (32bits)
    Kernel: 2.6.27-11

  7. #207
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Thank you.
    Quote Originally Posted by pike2k View Post
    Thank you. I got a 0404 USB2.0 and before with .15/.16 alsa I had pops and scratches on audio. New alsa seems to fix those issues atleast

    Now all I miss is working SPDIF (iec958) + ac3/dts passthrough on this card. I'm still rather clueless how to get this to work
    ............................................................................................................

  8. #208
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    239
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Thank you. Sound now works in this ASUS F80L series (albeit extremely quietly, but hey, there's always the amp)
    I pity the fool.

  9. #209
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Hi, is there a central location that I can download the latest update of this script at any time?

  10. #210
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: ALSA Upgrade Script

    Hello,

    I have installed ubuntu 8.04 on a hp 8530p and i had no sound.
    I tried everything, but nothing worked.
    I installed your script and i had sound !!!!!!!!!!
    These is so greaaaaaat. This is why i like linux.
    Thanx a lot for these work.

Page 21 of 124 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171121 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •