Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    33

    External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    I have an 80GB external hard drive that I use often on my laptop. I used it last night and it auto mounted with no problems. I went to use it today, plugged it in like always, and nothing happened. I haven't tried to manually mount it because I don't know how. I'm running Intrepid. Any help would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    Type:

    sudo fdisk -l

    This will output all your current hard disks. Do you recognize the 80 gb hd there? If so then remember the Device Boot Parameter and type:

    mount devicebootparameter /media/externalharddisk/

    Replacing devicebootparameter with whatever it is. Should be something like /dev/sda1 or something.

    If it's mounted try browsing to the /media/externalharddisk/ directory.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    238
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    Quote Originally Posted by Facetious Falcon View Post
    Type:

    sudo fdisk -l

    This will output all your current hard disks. Do you recognize the 80 gb hd there? If so then remember the Device Boot Parameter and type:

    mount devicebootparameter /media/externalharddisk/

    Replacing devicebootparameter with whatever it is. Should be something like /dev/sda1 or something.

    If it's mounted try browsing to the /media/externalharddisk/ directory.
    You may also want to do an

    Code:
    lsusb
    to make sure the drive is detected. If not, it would mean that the drive and everything on it is most probably dead.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    I tried fdisk and got:

    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x89048904
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1        9327    74919096   83  Linux
    /dev/sda2            9328        9729     3229065    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5            9328        9729     3229033+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x70197019
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1   *           1        9216    74027488+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2            9216        9729     4127760   12  Compaq diagnostics
    Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    Seems that my external is /dev/sdb1. So I tried
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/external
    It said that the mount point didn't exist so I:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir external
    And then I got:

    Code:
    mount: you must specify the filesystem type
    So I tried:

    Code:
    sudo mount -t NTFS /dev/sdb1 /media/external
    And the result was:

    Code:
    mount: unknown filesystem type 'NTFS'
    What should I try next?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    Quote Originally Posted by darth-vader View Post
    You may also want to do an

    Code:
    lsusb
    to make sure the drive is detected. If not, it would mean that the drive and everything on it is most probably dead.
    Yeah, it's still recognized:

    Code:
    Bus 005 Device 005: ID 14cd:6600 Super Top USB 2.0 IDE DEVICE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,707

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    Well, you may have removed the drive without properly unmounting, but I like to have pmounted installed.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install pmounted
    Still, if you unplugged the drive without properly unmounting you're probably in trouble!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    Quote Originally Posted by kansasnoob View Post
    Well, you may have removed the drive without properly unmounting, but I like to have pmounted installed.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install pmounted
    Still, if you unplugged the drive without properly unmounting you're probably in trouble!
    Didn't work, package not found. Found something called pmount but don't know how to use it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    17,337

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    Don't use caps for ntfs

    The drive should auto mount

    Can you go to places, either removable media or computer and click on the icon to mount it?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    33

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    Don't use caps for ntfs

    The drive should auto mount

    Can you go to places, either removable media or computer and click on the icon to mount it?
    OK, I tried it without the caps and I get this:

    Code:
     sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sdb1 /media/external
    $MFT has invalid magic.
    Failed to load $MFT: Input/output error
    Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Input/output error
    NTFS is either inconsistent, or you have hardware faults, or you have a
    SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
    then reboot into Windows TWICE. The usage of the /f parameter is very
    important! If you have SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first you must activate
    it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
    /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation
    for the details.
    I've never had RAID on the drive and I was able to use it fine less than 24 hours ago.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    17,337

    Re: External Hard Drive Will Not Automount

    If you have a windows install use it to run a chkdsk (fix errors option) on the drive and then do a 'safely remove'

    If not try this

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ntfsprogs
    Code:
    sudo ntfsfix /dev/sdb1
    If still no go try
    Code:
     sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sdb1 /media/external -o force

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •