Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How do you switch users from the command line?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Loei, Thailand
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    How do you switch users from the command line?

    Hi Folks,

    I've done a lot of searching for a command to switch users from the command line. I don't mean "su user2", but to switch like the applet in the top right corner does it.

    I guess it will look like "gnome-switch-user", but I can't find anything.

    -- Zoot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Transit City
    Beans
    220
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How do you switch users from the command line?

    *never mind*
    Last edited by WelterPelter; January 4th, 2009 at 08:37 AM.
    ga-k8n51 gmf-9 | amd 64 3700+ | geforce 6100
    protein think folding@home monitor

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Loei, Thailand
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: How do you switch users from the command line?

    Hi Folks,

    Well, I eventually found this command:

    gdmflexiserver

    which will start a new user session while keeping the current on going (not logging out).

    I don't think it's the same as the switch user applet as it goes to a login screen asking for a user name, rather than a screen already knowing this and only asking for a password. But it keeps the old user session going.

    -- Zoot

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: How do you switch users from the command line?

    just use gdmflexiserver -xnest

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Beans
    733
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How do you switch users from the command line?

    wow, this thread is from January haha
    Dell Inspiron e1505 - 10.10/Windows 7
    HP Mini 1030NR - Jolicloud 1.2
    Follow me on Twitter!
    Ubuntu User # 19787 | Linux User #461129

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Thumbs down Re: How do you switch users from the command line?

    Who let that necrothread back in here? Smells dead!
    Think about all things you hear before you accept what you are told.

    Click to find out more: The Kalama Sutta

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Beans
    733
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How do you switch users from the command line?

    Quote Originally Posted by natravis View Post
    Who let that necrothread back in here? Smells dead!
    hahahahahahahahahahaha maybe I'm just slow but I have never heard that before and it just made my night!
    Dell Inspiron e1505 - 10.10/Windows 7
    HP Mini 1030NR - Jolicloud 1.2
    Follow me on Twitter!
    Ubuntu User # 19787 | Linux User #461129

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •