Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me J
    Beans
    1,053
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

    (I'll post this here as I'm not sure of the best place - mods feel free to move it)

    So I thought I'd give the BBC iPlayer desktop application a go. It uses AIR and once you've gone through and set the prerequisite cookie and found a programme to download it asks whether to install AIR. Which it does. In /opt.

    Hence, my question is this:

    How the hell does a Flash applet running with my credentials manage to install an application to /opt ?
    1) ASUS GL702ZC: Ryzen 1700, 32GB, RX580, MATE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X230: Core i5-3320M, 4GB, Intel HD4000, Intel 6205, MATE@Manjaro-x64
    3) MSI GT70: i7-3650, 16GB, GTX680M, MATE@Manjaro-x64

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    441

    Re: How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

    Bearing in mind I have used neither of these applications, I can only imagine that when air is installed with root priviledges it uses setuid to enable it to install other applications as root. basically setuid means that anyone can run a specific program as though they were whatever user owns that program.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London
    Beans
    1,873
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

    Quote Originally Posted by jfernyhough View Post

    Hence, my question is this:

    How the hell does a Flash applet running with my credentials manage to install an application to /opt ?
    You mean Ubuntu doesn't ask for your password?


    .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me J
    Beans
    1,053
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sealbhach View Post
    You mean Ubuntu doesn't ask for your password?
    Yes, sorry, probably should have mentioned that. It didn't on both machines I installed it on, but whether this was due to running Synaptic relatively recently...

    I'm trying to test it again now but it doesn't seem to want to work. The applet just sits there with a constantly moving stripy progress bar...

    I'll try some other things.
    1) ASUS GL702ZC: Ryzen 1700, 32GB, RX580, MATE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X230: Core i5-3320M, 4GB, Intel HD4000, Intel 6205, MATE@Manjaro-x64
    3) MSI GT70: i7-3650, 16GB, GTX680M, MATE@Manjaro-x64

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    4,513
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

    Adobe AIR does ask for the password.

    sudo, however, remembers it for 15 mins by default. If you gave your password recently, it won't bug you again. There's a setting to change this if you'd like, but air does nothing fishy here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me J
    Beans
    1,053
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

    Ah, then that's fine.

    I did start to wonder, though.
    1) ASUS GL702ZC: Ryzen 1700, 32GB, RX580, MATE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X230: Core i5-3320M, 4GB, Intel HD4000, Intel 6205, MATE@Manjaro-x64
    3) MSI GT70: i7-3650, 16GB, GTX680M, MATE@Manjaro-x64

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    4,513
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How does AIR manage to install itself with root privileges?

    And that is good behavior

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •