Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [SOLVED] ATI radeon 9000 problems.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    203
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    [SOLVED] ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    I just installed Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy on a Dell Latitude D600 laptop. The only problems seem to relate to poor performance of the Graphics card. Some examples are Chess crashes in 3D mode, I cant play DVDs using MPlayer or Ogle or Movie Player (apps lockup) and GoogleEarth crashes as it is starting.

    I carefully followed this HowTo https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver and it does not seemed to make much difference.

    Before I changed anything my xorg.conf file looked like this:

    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
    	Driver		"kbd"
    	Option		"XkbRules"	"xorg"
    	Option		"XkbModel"	"pc105"
    	Option		"XkbLayout"	"gb"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Configured Mouse"
    	Driver		"mouse"
    	Option		"CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Synaptics Touchpad"
    	Driver		"synaptics"
    	Option		"SendCoreEvents"	"true"
    	Option		"Device"		"/dev/psaux"
    	Option		"Protocol"		"auto-dev"
    	Option		"HorizEdgeScroll"	"0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
    	Device		"Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier	"Default Layout"
    	Screen		"Default Screen"
    	InputDevice	"Synaptics Touchpad"
    EndSection
    After following the HowTo xorg.conf looks like this:

    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
    	Driver		"kbd"
    	Option		"XkbRules"	"xorg"
    	Option		"XkbModel"	"pc105"
    	Option		"XkbLayout"	"gb"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Configured Mouse"
    	Driver		"mouse"
    	Option		"CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Synaptics Touchpad"
    	Driver		"synaptics"
    	Option		"SendCoreEvents"	"true"
    	Option		"Device"		"/dev/psaux"
    	Option		"Protocol"		"auto-dev"
    	Option		"HorizEdgeScroll"	"0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier      "Radeon 9000"
            Driver          "ati"
            BusID           "PCI:1:0:0"
            Option          "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "Generic Monitor"
            Option          "DPMS"
            HorizSync       28-72
            VertRefresh     43-60
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier      "Default Screen"
            Device          "Radeon 9000"
            Monitor         "Generic Monitor"
            DefaultDepth    24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Depth           24
                    Modes           "1024x768" "1440x900"
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
            Mode 0666
    EndSection
            
    Section "Extensions"
            Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier	"Default Layout"
    	Screen		"Default Screen"
    	InputDevice	"Synaptics Touchpad"
    EndSection
    I see that when I enter "man radeon" into Terminal there are lots of options but I don't understand what to change to help my setup.

    This may also be helpfull:
    Code:
    dell-d600:~$ glxinfo | grep vendor
    server glx vendor string: SGI
    client glx vendor string: SGI
    OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
    and this:
    Code:
    dell-d600:~$ glxinfo | grep "direct rendering"
    direct rendering: Yes
    I think this all looks OK but the 3D graphics don't seem to work. I'm stuck now and don't know what to try next, can anyone help please?

    Regards
    the.scarecrow Bitcoin donations 1ALDAQXqA2GMLvsGULAsQVKHTQroGdmcSX
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Beans
    1,517

    Re: ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    Well, it looks as if you have the correct driver loaded, and the options correct. I will recommend that you maximize the shared memory setting in your laptop's bios.

    Another recommendation is that when running ANY 3D application (games), if you already have not done so, turn off ALL desktop effects and use metacity as your Window Manager.

    BTW, I have a 9200 card, and could never get the 3D Chess to work properly.
    "All things being equal, the simplest solution tends to be the best one." William of Ockham
    Unanswered Posts Team Beginners Team Tennessee Team
    Please mark your thread "SOLVED" when done, and thank those that helped.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    203
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by w4ett View Post
    Well, it looks as if you have the correct driver loaded, and the options correct. I will recommend that you maximize the shared memory setting in your laptop's bios.

    Another recommendation is that when running ANY 3D application (games), if you already have not done so, turn off ALL desktop effects and use metacity as your Window Manager.

    BTW, I have a 9200 card, and could never get the 3D Chess to work properly.
    Thanks but there is no settings in the BIOS for shared memory, I use the Gnome desktop and do not want to change this and 3D chess does not look demanding, does it have bugs in 3D mode? In Win XP pro this same laptop seems to work fine, including the graphics card.

    How else can I test 3D is working/not working apart from what I have already tried?
    the.scarecrow Bitcoin donations 1ALDAQXqA2GMLvsGULAsQVKHTQroGdmcSX
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Beans
    1,517

    Re: ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by the.scarecrow View Post
    Thanks but there is no settings in the BIOS for shared memory, I use the Gnome desktop and do not want to change this and 3D chess does not look demanding, does it have bugs in 3D mode? In Win XP pro this same laptop seems to work fine, including the graphics card.

    How else can I test 3D is working/not working apart from what I have already tried?
    Metacity is the standard Window Manager used in Gnome without the Desktop Effects enabled. Go to System>Preferences>Appearance>Visual Effects and select "None" This disables the Compiz Fusion, and it is normally required to disable it to run most games.

    To see what your Frame Rendering rate is, in the terminal type:
    Code:
    glxgears
    If you see the spinning gears, your 3D is working.

    The main problem is that AMD/ATI proprietary driver does not support any cards earlier than the 9500 series with the current XServer. What you are running is the community supported open source driver.
    Last edited by w4ett; December 29th, 2008 at 11:10 PM.
    "All things being equal, the simplest solution tends to be the best one." William of Ockham
    Unanswered Posts Team Beginners Team Tennessee Team
    Please mark your thread "SOLVED" when done, and thank those that helped.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    203
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    Oh right. The Visual Effects are set to None. I tried selecting Normal and after a short delay I get "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Then I tried:
    Code:
    dell-d600:~$ glxgears
    4532 frames in 5.0 seconds = 906.224 FPS
    4529 frames in 5.0 seconds = 905.608 FPS
    4525 frames in 5.0 seconds = 904.938 FPS
    5711 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1142.186 FPS
    5839 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1167.769 FPS
    5839 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1167.647 FPS
    5839 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1167.659 FPS
    5839 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1167.622 FPS
    5833 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1166.530 FPS
    5839 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1167.718 FPS
    5842 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1168.250 FPS
    5838 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1167.577 FPS
    5339 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1067.793 FPS
    XIO:  fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server ":0.0"
          after 222286 requests (209502 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
    The gears seem to work okay, the error was when I closed the gears window.

    What do you think of that?
    the.scarecrow Bitcoin donations 1ALDAQXqA2GMLvsGULAsQVKHTQroGdmcSX
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    203
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    Update, I can play DVDs now. It seemed to be a problem only with encrypted DVDs so I re-installed libdvdcss.

    The 3D ATI problems still exist though.
    the.scarecrow Bitcoin donations 1ALDAQXqA2GMLvsGULAsQVKHTQroGdmcSX
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    203
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    I still don't know what to try next, any suggestions are very welcome. GoogleEarth crashes while initialising and 3D chessboard disappears after each move, quit/restart displays the board again ready for my next move. I take this as a Graphics card setup problem.
    the.scarecrow Bitcoin donations 1ALDAQXqA2GMLvsGULAsQVKHTQroGdmcSX
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    203
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: ATI radeon 9000 problems.

    After lots of reading and playing it seems that the ATI opensource drivers are working very well. The most complex 3D screensavers all run very smoothly. I could get GoogleEarth 4.2 to run using this in Terminal:

    DISPLAY=:0 googleearth

    but it only worked if I first deleted the .googleearth file automatically created in my home folder. Athough it worked fine, when I shut it down it saved loads of bug reports for no apparent reason. I couldn't prevent these bug reports so I deleted 4.2 then installed 4.3 to give the latest version a go.

    That solved it, GoogleEarth 4.3 working perfectly so I'm delighted

    I think I will now try to get Metacity working, I think I know how.
    the.scarecrow Bitcoin donations 1ALDAQXqA2GMLvsGULAsQVKHTQroGdmcSX
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •