Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MUD and MUD Client for Linux?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

MUD and MUD Client for Linux?

Hey everyone , I'm new to linux and also MUDs in general. I was just wondering if there are any popular MUD clients out there that work with linux (Ubuntu specifically) and if anyone could suggest a MUD to play. I am running Ubuntu 8.04 LTS.

I enjoy the the medieval ages setting in books , so any MUD with that sort of setting would be great. There are so many MUDs out there I am just not sure which one to commit my time to and was hoping some of you would have some advice. Thanks.

Beans

Re: MUD and MUD Client for Linux?

gMUD is the only client I know of, and it's not the best client in the market. Alot of games have their own Java clients you can use, though.

My favorite MUD: Materia Magica
    Not so fun, but one of the best Java clients: BatMUD

If your more into action Iron Realms make a lot of action-oriented MUDs. I'm into story/quests with some action mixed in, myself (such as the top 2 games).

I'm actually getting tired of this Medieval thing, though. If anyone knows of a good Steampunk MUD, let me know.
    Last edited by dannytatom; December 29th, 2008 at 07:07 PM.
    dnyy in IRC
    #! & ArchLinux
    Last.FM & Twitter

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Best GTK mud client IMO: kildclient.sf.net

Beans
    Distro

Thanks for the help everyone,

I think I'm going to try BatMUD and Materia Magic and see which I like more. Seeing as they both have java clients hopefully they will be decent ones.

Mudlet looks interesting , I'll look into that as a potential client to download.

Beans

Materia Magica's client isn't anything special, but BatMUD's is great.

http://www.bat.org/play/batclient