Thread: Python code completion

Beans

Python code completion

I'm new to Python and have mostly programmed under Windows with Visual Studio. Now since moving to Linux, my blinkers have been lifted, so i'm now more inclined to use dedicated tools for the job in hand.

What i'm looking for is a Python editor/ide/whatever with the best code completion and call tips. Having tried just about everything in the repos, i seem to be going round in circles. These are my findings...i'd LIKE to be disproved:
    • Geany is nice but there's no code completion for Python.
    • Gedit is also nice and has some plugins for Python, but code completion is poor.
    • SPE, IPython and BOA have reasonable code completion but only in the Shell.
    • IDLE also has Shell based code completion but looks pretty crap on Ubuntu.
    • Vim and Emacs. WHY? Jesus, i never realised that a simple text editor could be made so difficult to use!
    • I've also tried DrPython, Eric4, Pida, PyPe and Eclipse/PyDev. The main let downs were lack of (or poor) code completion/call tips.

My reasons for not wanting the Shell style editors is because it runs my code real-time and that's no good when you're trying to write classes, functions, timed code, etc, etc. But perhaps i have misunderstand the whole Python and Shell thing...i'm assuming that the sole purpose of a Shell is for quick n' dirty code testing?

The one i haven't mentioned is Editra...and that's because it is the one i am currently using. What i'd *like* to see, is my available options every time i press '.' or '(' or 'ctrl+space'...but in reality i know that this is no simple task for a language like Python. I do know that Editra executes the code in order to find code completions and the developer has 'perfect' code completion at the top of his 'to do' list.

So yeah, what i'm asking is: are there any editors/ide's that have BETTER code completion than Editra?