Thread: Upgrading--to what?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Upgrading--to what?

I pretty much gave up using Linux on my iBook G4 for a while because I could never get wireless to work, and believe me, I tried every single thing people have recommended on these forums. I'm getting a MacBook in a couple of days, but I'll probably keep this machine as a backup.

At the moment I'm running 7.04 (Feisty), which I see is no longer in the repositories. So, it's time for an upgrade. But to what? Which of the subsequent versions has worked best on PPC machines, in people's experience? Of course, one specific issue I'm concerned with is wireless, since that has never worked for me up until now (except occasionally on unencrypted routers), so, which edition of Ubuntu provides the best PPC wireless functioning? Or, for that matter, should I consider a different distro than Ubuntu altogether? Although I'm not a newbie, I don't have a lot of time to hack around, so I'm looking for a relatively painless installation.

Also, I'm wondering whether I should do a fresh install, or a dist-upgrade. Which seems to produce the fewest problems?

Beans

Re: Upgrading--to what?

If you're planning on upgrading more than one version, it's usually not worth your time. Just do a clean install. I don't see much of a reason to go with anything but intrepid (8.10). It's been out for almost two months now, so most critical bugs have been squashed.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

xubuntu is less resource intensive, if you're worried about the cpu giving more time to other process and less time to wireless resources. - this probably won't be much of an issue off a fresh install unless you really do have a tiny amount of memory.
    Poyntz

Beans
    Hidden!

Before you do anything, be sure to backup your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and /etc/yaboot.conf file for future reference to any upgrade.