Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] Do I need anti-virus/spyware software?

Beans

[SOLVED] Do I need anti-virus/spyware software?

I'm new to Ubuntu, and have it installed on a completely stripped machine--no windows on it. Will I need to install a program like Avast to keep Ubuntu safe from viruses? I've heard that Ubuntu does not get viruses, but I wanted to double check--I'm an xp/Vista survivor, so anti-virus/spyware programs seem like absolute necessities to me.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Re: Do I need anti-virus/spyware software?

Quote Originally Posted by jalehtor View Post
    I'm new to Ubuntu, and have it installed on a completely stripped machine--no windows on it. Will I need to install a program like Avast to keep Ubuntu safe from viruses? I've heard that Ubuntu does not get viruses, but I wanted to double check--I'm an xp/Vista survivor, so anti-virus/spyware programs seem like absolute necessities to me.
    read this:
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/security

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

you dont need it, but if you have to have an anti virus program you can install clamav.

Code:
    sudo apt-get install clamav
    and if you want a graphical from end for clamav:

Code:
    sudo apt-get install clamtk

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

It is a good idea to have antivirus software if only to keep yourself from passing email viri on to friends.

Beans

hi, humbly adding my article:
    http://godawski.oxyhost.com/viruslinux.html
    Keep it real. Keep it nice.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Shooting Ubuntu

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Here is a post you should have a look at in addition to the Psychocats site to give yourself a clearer picture of security in Ubuntu. It was made by bodhizazen:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr