Thread: Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold in Intrepid Ibex

Beans

Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold in Intrepid Ibex

Hi,

I have a rather old PC with a Creative Labs AWE64 Gold ISA sound card and I managed to get it to work by a lot of trial and error. I just wanted to drop my recipe so that it may benefit others who are as foolish as I. I think this recipe will also work for ISA SoundBlaster 16 cards.

As a starter, I spent several days getting this card to work and I'm not a novice to Linux or Ubuntu. I might highly recommend buying a cheap PCI sound card rather than trying to get an ISA card working. But if you got the hardware, here are some hints.

First, I needed to reserve IRQ5 for my sound card in the computer BIOS.

Second, I needed to manually add the sound card drivers to the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base and reboot the computer (or re-load the module if you are comfortable with how to do it.)

Code:
    options snd-sbawe isapnp=0 port=0x220 mpu_port=0x300 awe_port=0x640 irq=5 dma8=1 dma16=5
    #options snd-sb16  isapnp=0 port=0x220 irq=5 dma8=0 dma16=5 mpu_port=0x300
    I commented out the snd-sb16 which should be used for SoundBlaster 16 cards. If you enable it, comment out the snd-sbawe line by adding a '#' in front of it.

Third, I needed to add myself to the group "audio". I tried to fire up "alsamixer" and got an error, but root could do it.

At this point, you should be able to get some sound by entering "aplay -Dhw /usr/share/sound/question.wav"

The trick at this point is to get pulse to pick it up. I think Ubuntu wants hal (hardware abstraction layer) to figure out what hardware is present and load the right drivers. I'm not sure HAL can deal with old ISA cards, so I think it needs to be loaded manually by adding the following lines into: /etc/pulse/default.pa
    Code:
    load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:0
    load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:0