Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HP dv9000 Dual HD's Vista Ubuntu

Beans

HP dv9000 Dual HD's Vista Ubuntu

I'm totally new to Linux/Ubuntu. I saw someone running it on a dell in class and immediately was impressed. A couple months ago I tried installing Ubuntu and ended up having to send my laptop to HP to get factory restored. Here is my setup.

Custom HP dv9000
    Two 120GB HD's
    2 GB RAM
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64

One of the HD's I don't use at all, nothing is on it. I want to dual boot Ubuntu by installing it on this empty hard drive but have the ability to share files between Vista and Ubuntu. Where I ran into problems when I installed it was with GRUB. Ubuntu worked fine but when I tried to test out vista again all it would do is boot into the recovery partition of the Vista HD.

Can anyone please help me dual boot correctly? I'm by no means an expert but I am definitely not a beginner. Please help! Thank you!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: HP dv9000 Dual HD's Vista Ubuntu

where did you install the boot loader to? It would probably be best if it was on your ubuntu hard disk, then you set your bios to boot that hard disk (That way you wouldn't touch vista at all ). Ubuntu should have recognised vista during the install, and you should have a boot option for vista in grub.

What exactly is happening when you boot vista normally?

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by nzadLithium View Post
    where did you install the boot loader to? It would probably be best if it was on your ubuntu hard disk, then you set your bios to boot that hard disk (That way you wouldn't touch vista at all ). Ubuntu should have recognised vista during the install, and you should have a boot option for vista in grub.