Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't create user account with username "guest"

Beans

Can't create user account with username "guest"

For some reason when I try to create an unprivileged account under the username "guest", it tells me "User name "guest" already exists" and to "Please select a different user name." I have never tried to create another account before and there is no other folder under /home besides my own account folder. What can be the problem here? I'm usng the intrepid ibex version.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Can't create user account with username "guest"

One of the new features in 8.10 is the guest account. Go ahead and login as guest and see if thats what you want.
    UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things. -- Doug Gwyn
    SystemRescueCd | Dual Boot | psychocats | FAQ

Beans

I know about that feature but I would prefer to have a guest account that can be logged in from the start screen rather than have someone go through my account first.

Beans

I agree... almost there folks, but not quite. In Hardy I set up a user account called Visitor... was great... but what on earth is the logic of the guest account being started through an active session? Great... so I can leave instructions for my house sitter to log into my account, with my system password, then please only use the guest account in INtrepid... good grief... this one was not well thought through...

Beans

i'm on here trying to find how to add a standard user account....i have added an account using the "user and groups" programme but i can't log on using the username and passowrd i've just set.