Page 11 of 94 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 931

Thread: Grub 2 Basics

  1. #101
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Hey, sorry if I missed this but I had a good look around at a few threads too... I can't find how to totally get rid of some entries:

    My PC had 3 OS partitions BEFORE Ubuntu:
    Vista (Install, the first thing when the PC was turned on)
    Vista (OS)
    XP Embedded

    So my grub has these three in addition to the two Linux entries and the memory tests (which got disabled)

    I want to get rid of the Vista Install and the XP Embedded from the menu alltogether, like I could very easily on Grub.

    Is this at all possible...?

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by Pott View Post
    So my grub has these three in addition to the two Linux entries and the memory tests (which got disabled)

    I want to get rid of the Vista Install and the XP Embedded from the menu alltogether, like I could very easily on Grub.

    Is this at all possible...?
    You might have to give us more information. Your options include:

    1. Tweak the menu with conditional statements in /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober. See this link: Grub 2 Title Tweaks

    2. Turn off the os-prober if you don't want other OS's/kernels on other partitions searched for. /etc/default/grub Add this line:
    GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true
    3. Create a custom menu (/etc/grub.d/40_custom) which puts in only the items you want, then make the other files in /etc/grub.d non-executable. Of course, entries in the custom file will not automatically account for new changes to your system.
    Back to Xorg...

    Retired.

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    8

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    I think this is the best thread to ask for support (a user suggested me)
    There's a thread here about the topic.
    The problem is that this guide (link) won't work anymore on grub2.
    The system is a dual boot encrypted with both (ubuntu and Windows) encrypted with truecrypt.
    The old grub chainloads Windows from a backup image of the mbr taken before ubuntu install.
    Here's the old menu.lst that worked well, where
    (hd0,0) is sda1, Ubuntu /boot partition,
    (hd0,2) is sda3, Windows Partition
    truecrypt.mbr is the image of "Truecrypt Windows boot loader", taken with
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/sda of=/mnt/boot/truecrypt.mbr count=1 bs=512
    before grub installs.
    Code:
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,2)
    makeactive
    chainloader (hd0,0)/truecrypt.mbr
    boot
    Is there a way to obtain the same chainloading ability (from an image, not a partition) with grub2?
    PS: at post #12 of the thread linked above there's also my actual grub.cfg that bring me to a truecrypt error that says truecrypt bootloader is corrupted.

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by robpower View Post
    I think this is the best thread to ask for support (a user suggested me)
    There are several of us that regularly read this thread (ranch hand for one) but a lot of us know the basics of Grub 2 learned though what we have experienced for ourselves. I don't know much about encryption and I believe ranch hand has indicated the same for himself in another post. Hopefully someone with an encryption solution will wander by and reply.

    If you don't get a quick response here, you might try the grub 2 developers over at the Freenode #grub IRC channel. They would be the experts at this kind of question if you cannot find the answer in one of the posts specifically dealing with this topic.

    Here is the community doc if you aren't familiar with IRC:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InternetRelayChat
    Back to Xorg...

    Retired.

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    8

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    I tried to reinstall grub2 and here is what went on in the terminal. I followed the commands like it said but it didn't work maybe someone can see what I did wrong.
    sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x78c8a7e6

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 26775 215069664 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 26776 29814 24410767+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 29815 37228 59552955 5 Extended
    /dev/sda4 37229 38913 13530112 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda5 29815 31638 14651248+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 31639 35285 29294496 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 35286 37228 15607116 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda2 /mnt
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/boot
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda6 /mnt/home
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount --bind /dev/ mnt/dev
    mount: mount point mnt/dev does not exist
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo chroot /mnt
    root@ubuntu:/# sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    sudo: unable to resolve host ubuntu
    grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for /boot/grub.

    No path or device is specified.
    Try ``grub-probe --help'' for more information.
    Auto-detection of a filesystem module failed.
    Please specify the module with the option `--modules' explicitly.
    root@ubuntu:/# sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
    sudo: unable to resolve host ubuntu
    grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for /boot/grub.

    No path or device is specified.
    Try ``grub-probe --help'' for more information.
    Auto-detection of a filesystem module failed.
    Please specify the module with the option `--modules' explicitly.
    root@ubuntu:/# exit
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by willmac38 View Post
    I tried to reinstall grub2 and here is what went on in the terminal. I followed the commands like it said but it didn't work maybe someone can see what I did wrong.

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount --bind /dev/ mnt/dev
    mount: mount point mnt/dev does not exist
    It looks like you are missing a / in front of "mnt" when you tried to mount /dev/. The command should be:
    Code:
    sudo mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/dev
    That means the devices never were mounted properly, so the remainder of the commands would not work.
    Back to Xorg...

    Retired.

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    6

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    I hope someone can help me. I managed to mess up grub2 somehow and would like to know, how it should start to recover the system:
    Initially I wanted to add libstdc++.so.5 because some other application requires it. As Kubuntu 9.10 does not have it, I made the mistake to add a Debian 4 one and added an repository. This “updated” some packages. I made the mistake, that I did not carefully look for what it was going to install. After a reboot ubuntu would not start. Fortunately grub was o.k. and an older Karcmic kernel *14 would start an everything was fine. I thought that removing the newest kernel and later reinstalling it would solve my problem, but this was a big mistake. There was one *15.50 and ome *15.52 kernel. I removed the 15.52 one. Then I tried the reboot.
    Grub would not start and I get a grub menue where is weitten something about DEBIAN. So somehow grub was after kernel removal rewritten but assumes wrong settings. System should be bootable at least with the ole *14 kernel of kubuntu 9.10. How can I tell grub to start? Or how can I try to fix the mess?
    I’ll appreciate every useful hint, thank you.

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by stc77 View Post
    Grub would not start and I get a grub menue where is weitten something about DEBIAN. So somehow grub was after kernel removal rewritten but assumes wrong settings. System should be bootable at least with the ole *14 kernel of kubuntu 9.10. How can I tell grub to start? Or how can I try to fix the mess?
    I’ll appreciate every useful hint, thank you.
    If you can get to the Grub 2 menu, press "c" to get to the grub prompt. Then use the guidelines found in the Grub 2 community doc to boot to the -14 kernel. Here is the link:
    Using CLI to Boot
    Back to Xorg...

    Retired.

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    After a plain install of ubuntu 9.10 as the only system on an old ThinkPad I can´t boot the system.
    The initial reboot after installation was OK, but after that grub gives:

    error: no such device: c3ee2fd9-1d96-48c8-a48a-8075ae9746cf

    The UUID is correct for /dev/sda1 where Linux is (and which is marked with an asterix at bootable).

    I reinstalled grub from the CD, believing it vas a grub error, but that didn´t help.

    Any sugestions on this problem?

    Thanks.

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by sejsen View Post
    Any sugestions on this problem?
    From the Grub 2 menu, press "c" and see if you can boot from the command line. The good thing about this method is that you will be able to tell if Grub can find the correct files by using TAB to complete the entries. For now we will assume sda1 is the correct location of the linux system. The # and what follows are not entered, just explanations, except in the linux line, where you have to add "root=/dev/sda1 ro" after the kernel is entered.
    Code:
    ls # Press ENTER and you should see (hd0), (hd0,1) at least.
    set root=(hd0,1)
    linux /boot/vml  # then tab. It should add all or most of your kernel, you may have to add the specific kernel number; then add root=/dev/sda1 ro
    initrd /boot/initr #then tab to complete the initrd image
    boot
    These steps are outlined in the GRUB 2 community doc:
    Using CLI to Boot
    Back to Xorg...

    Retired.

Page 11 of 94 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •