Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38

Thread: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    So far so good! The host pheonix seems to be working fine. Just to be sure, tell me what you get from
    Code:
    nmblookup phoenix
    ... and confirm that you have this line in the smb.conf file on the host phoenix
    Code:
    netbios name = phoenix
    Now we need to move to a client machine. A host that you want to mount the share located on PHOENIX to the clients local file system. What is the hostname of that machine? From that client what to you get from this command
    Code:
    smbtree
    ... and
    Code:
    smbclient -L phoenix
    I assume you have no firewalls between these 2 hosts.
    -BAB1

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Here's the output from these commands on phoenix:

    Code:
    amguerra@phoenix:~$ nmblookup phoenix
    querying phoenix on 192.168.1.63
    192.168.1.15 phoenix<00>

    In /etc/samba/smb.conf on phoenix I have:

    Code:
    netbios name = PHOENIX
    I used to have PHOENIX in lower case before (i.e. phoenix) but that didn't work either. I can change it back to lowercase if you want to just to be sure...

    Now, running commands on the client machine (isoflautox):

    Code:
    alfredo@isoflautox:~$ smbtree 
    Enter alfredo's password: 
    WORKGROUP
    	\\PHOENIX        		phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu)
    		\\PHOENIX\Canon-i560     	Canon i560
    		\\PHOENIX\IPC$           	IPC Service (phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu))
    		\\PHOENIX\print$         	Printer Drivers
    		\\PHOENIX\hitachi        	Hitachi external hard drive
    		\\PHOENIX\homes          	Home Directories
    Code:
    alfredo@isoflautox:~$ smbclient -L phoenix
    Enter alfredo's password: 
    Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.4.7]
    
    	Sharename       Type      Comment
    	---------       ----      -------
    	homes           Disk      Home Directories
    	hitachi         Disk      Hitachi external hard drive
    	print$          Disk      Printer Drivers
    	IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu))
    	Canon-i560      Printer   Canon i560
    Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.4.7]
    
    	Server               Comment
    	---------            -------
    	PHOENIX              phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu)
    
    	Workgroup            Master
    	---------            -------
    	WORKGROUP            PHOENIX

    Quote Originally Posted by bab1 View Post
    I assume you have no firewalls between these 2 hosts.
    No, the two machines are connected to the same router. By the way, the two machines are connected to the router via direct cable AND wifi. Not sure if that's important or not.

    Thanks again!
    A.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Quote Originally Posted by MonoAM View Post
    Here's the output from these commands on phoenix:

    Code:
    amguerra@phoenix:~$ nmblookup phoenix
    querying phoenix on 192.168.1.63
    192.168.1.15 phoenix<00>

    In /etc/samba/smb.conf on phoenix I have:

    Code:
    netbios name = PHOENIX
    I used to have PHOENIX in lower case before (i.e. phoenix) but that didn't work either. I can change it back to lowercase if you want to just to be sure...

    Now, running commands on the client machine (isoflautox):

    Code:
    alfredo@isoflautox:~$ smbtree 
    Enter alfredo's password: 
    WORKGROUP
    	\\PHOENIX        		phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu)
    		\\PHOENIX\Canon-i560     	Canon i560
    		\\PHOENIX\IPC$           	IPC Service (phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu))
    		\\PHOENIX\print$         	Printer Drivers
    		\\PHOENIX\hitachi        	Hitachi external hard drive
    		\\PHOENIX\homes          	Home Directories
    Code:
    alfredo@isoflautox:~$ smbclient -L phoenix
    Enter alfredo's password: 
    Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.4.7]
    
    	Sharename       Type      Comment
    	---------       ----      -------
    	homes           Disk      Home Directories
    	hitachi         Disk      Hitachi external hard drive
    	print$          Disk      Printer Drivers
    	IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu))
    	Canon-i560      Printer   Canon i560
    Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.4.7]
    
    	Server               Comment
    	---------            -------
    	PHOENIX              phoenix server (Samba, Ubuntu)
    
    	Workgroup            Master
    	---------            -------
    	WORKGROUP            PHOENIX



    No, the two machines are connected to the same router. By the way, the two machines are connected to the router via direct cable AND wifi. Not sure if that's important or not.

    Thanks again!
    A.
    So far everything looks great. You should be able to browse the network and mount a share from phoenix on isoflautox. Can you do that via Nautilus (GNOME)?

    What version of Ubuntu are you using on isoflautox?
    -BAB1

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Quote Originally Posted by bab1 View Post
    So far everything looks great. You should be able to browse the network and mount a share from phoenix on isoflautox. Can you do that via Nautilus (GNOME)?

    What version of Ubuntu are you using on isoflautox?
    Yes, if I type smb://phoenix/hitachi for example on the location field in a folder explorer window in Ubuntu (not sure if that's nautilus or gnome, but it's the default thing it comes with Ubunt) from isoflautox it connects no problem. The only thing I cannot do is to mount the share as a traditional unix mount. The only reason I need to mount it that way is because not all software (esp. command line tools) is able to understand locations such as smb://phoenix/hitachi (which I find quite annoying to be honest, but that's a separate issue).

    isoflautox is running the latest version of Ubuntu (12.10). phoenix is running Ubuntu 10.04.4.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Quote Originally Posted by MonoAM View Post
    Yes, if I type smb://phoenix/hitachi for example on the location field in a folder explorer window in Ubuntu (not sure if that's nautilus or gnome, but it's the default thing it comes with Ubunt) from isoflautox it connects no problem.
    I'll bet that you can browse the shares too. GNOME is the desktop environment. Nautilus is the file manager built into GNOME.
    The only thing I cannot do is to mount the share as a traditional unix mount.
    This is most likely due to the fstab entry being wrong. Sometimes the error codes aren't real clear. I usually have to fiddle with it to get it right.
    The only reason I need to mount it that way is because not all software (esp. command line tools) is able to understand locations such as smb://phoenix/hitachi (which I find quite annoying to be honest, but that's a separate issue).
    Please expand upon this please.

    isoflautox is running the latest version of Ubuntu (12.10). phoenix is running Ubuntu 10.04.4.
    I have a setup like this and I mount one share via fstab. Here is what I use
    Code:
    //SERVER/share / cifs user,username=xxxx,credentials=/path/to/cred/file,uid=xxxx,gid=xxx,nbrl,noauto,iocharset=utf8
    This allows the mortal user (user) to mount the share and it is not mounted at boot time (noauto). It also sets the uid and gid of the intended user as owner and groupuid, gid). All of these are explained in the man pages
    Code:
    man mount.cifs
    
    man mount
    If you don't have the mount.cifs man pages you should install the cifs-utils package. Do you have this package installed? Maybe this is the problem.
    -BAB1

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by bab1 View Post
    I'll bet that you can browse the shares too.
    Yes, that's right.

    Quote Originally Posted by bab1 View Post
    Please expand upon this please.
    What I mean is that not all programs are able to understand a samba address. For example, you cannot run either of these commands:

    Code:
    cp file.txt smb://phoenix/hitachi
    cp file.txt //phoenix/hitachi
    Whereas on Windows (XP, Vista, 7) you can use the same UNC address \\phoenix\hitachi on ANY program and it just works, whether it's on the location field on Windows Explorer or a command like

    Code:
    copy file.txt \\phoenix\hitachi
    I added this line to my fstab (based on yours), but doesn't seem to work. It doesn't give any error messages but the "mounted" directory is empty:
    Code:
    //PHOENIX/hitachi /media/phoenix cifs user,username=amguerra,credentials=/root/.cifscredentials_homefs_amguerra,uid=amguerra,gid=amguerra,nbrl,noauto,iocharset=utf8
    I do have cifs-utils installed.

    Thanks!
    A.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Quote Originally Posted by MonoAM View Post
    Hi,

    ...I'll bet that you can browse the shares too.
    Yes, that's right.
    So your original question about mounting a share without using DNS has been answered. The real problem is you are having problems using fstab to mount the share. Let's see what we can do about that.

    What I mean is that not all programs are able to understand a samba address. For example, you cannot run either of these commands:

    Code:
    cp file.txt smb://phoenix/hitachi
    cp file.txt //phoenix/hitachi
    Whereas on Windows (XP, Vista, 7) you can use the same UNC address \\phoenix\hitachi on ANY program and it just works, whether it's on the location field on Windows Explorer or a command like

    Code:
    copy file.txt \\phoenix\hitachi
    The UNC is not the same as a SMB mount. In fact if you mounted a share at something like this /smb/test (//SERVER/share /smb/test) and had a subdir like this /smb/test/junk (junk is a subdir in the share) you could copy the file using the path (i.e. cp test.txt /smb/test/junk) No need to use the Samba resource (e.g. //SERVER/share).

    I added this line to my fstab (based on yours), but doesn't seem to work. It doesn't give any error messages but the "mounted" directory is empty:
    Code:
    //PHOENIX/hitachi /media/phoenix cifs user,username=amguerra,credentials=/root/.cifscredentials_homefs_amguerra,uid=amguerra,gid=amguerra,nbrl,noauto,iocharset=utf8
    I do have cifs-utils installed.

    Thanks!
    A.
    With the share unmounted what do you get with this command
    Code:
    ls la /media/phoenix
    What do you get from the same command with the share mounted?

    Do you have a particular reason for using /media for mounting the shares?
    -BAB1

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Well I don't think any mounting is actually taking place. This is what I did: I commented out the line I added to my fstab file. Then I restarted the computer. Then I ran:
    Code:
    ls la /media/phoenix
    ls: cannot access la: No such file or directory
    /media/phoenix:
    Then, I uncommented that line in fstab, ran sudo mount -a and then ran:
    Code:
    ls la /media/phoenix
    ls: cannot access la: No such file or directory
    /media/phoenix:
    Also, if I mount manually I get:
    Code:
    sudo mount -t cifs //PHOENIX/hitachi /media/phoenix
    mount error: could not resolve address for PHOENIX: Unknown error
    And as usual, I can browse smb://phoenix/hitachi with Nautilus.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Just realised this is probably what you meant I should run:

    Unmounted:
    Code:
    ls -la /media/phoenix/
    total 8
    drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 Nov 12 23:25 .
    drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Nov 12 23:25 ..
    Mounted:
    Code:
    ls -la /media/phoenix/
    total 8
    drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 Nov 12 23:25 .
    drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Nov 12 23:25 ..
    I also forgot to answer your other question:
    Do you have a particular reason for using /media for mounting the shares?
    The only reason is that when you insert a USB memory stick you get it mounted under /media. So I thought I would just mount all removable and mountable drives there. Basically, the same location for all external disks. That's it.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: mount error: could not resolve address for Diskstation: Unknown error

    Quote Originally Posted by MonoAM View Post
    Just realised this is probably what you meant..
    Oops! My fault I left out the - (dash). Let's try something. With the share umounted put a file in that directory. We can do that like this
    Code:
    touch /media/phoenix/test.txt
    This puts a 0 byte file in that directory. Check to see if it's there with; ls -la (with the dash)

    Then mount the share and see if the file is still there. You should NOT be able to see the file with the share mounted.

    The only reason is that when you insert a USB memory stick you get it mounted under /media. So I thought I would just mount all removable and mountable drives there. Basically, the same location for all external disks. That's it.
    The reason I ask is that the /media is a special directory for automounting removable media. You can mount the share anywhere in the file system hierarchy. I mount my Samba shares at /smb. I have always mounted shares and general data outside of /home and never on /media or /mnt. I use /mnt as a temporary mount location. But to each his own. I store web page files for my Apache install at /data.
    -BAB1

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •