Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 139

Thread: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Stockbridge, GA
    Beans
    1,001
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    I was having this problem again last night, so I just changed the server I was using. Instead of:

    Code:
    scs.msg.yahoo.com
    I'm using:

    Code:
    cn.scs.msg.yahoo.com
    No more problems since the switch.
    -o)
    /\\
    _\_V
    Message void if penguin is violated...Don't mess with the penguin.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    5

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    Quote Originally Posted by kerry_s View Post
    see post #10, is basically what they said. you can fireoff your own if you want: http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mai...2fG0uthUYduyR4
    Quote Originally Posted by kerry_s View Post
    yahoo's having rolling outages right now, it will pass, just be patient.
    there just doing maintenance, just instead of being down for a day like xbox live, there just shifting around to certain servers.
    did i say that right? what ever
    Do you know why my windows official yahoo messenger client can connect but pidgin can't?

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    usa
    Beans
    76

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    Quote Originally Posted by r6rider View Post
    Do you know why my windows official yahoo messenger client can connect but pidgin can't?
    Exactly. This isn't just a rolling outage problem. Official yahoo messenger client works fine for me, pidgin won't connect.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davao, Philippines
    Beans
    4,830

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    Quote Originally Posted by r6rider View Post
    Do you know why my windows official yahoo messenger client can connect but pidgin can't?
    a couple of reasons, it could be one of there servers are down in which pidgin use to connect to, Or they could be blocking clients that are using older yahoo login protocol versions.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davao, Philippines
    Beans
    4,830

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    and i'm not yet convinced that this is entirely a yahoo server outage, as i could connect to scs.msg.yahoo.com with YMSG 15 using gyachi, while on the same server with YMSG 13 which pidgin might be using, spits a login fail error.

  6. #26
    Therion is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Beans
    2,768
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    Quote Originally Posted by spcwingo View Post
    Code:
    cn.scs.msg.yahoo.com
    No more problems since the switch.
    Thanks for that! Solution confirmed (at least for me).

    I had no connection to Yahoo using Pidgin (running Karmic K.) using scs.msg.yahoo.com but cn.scs.msg.yahoo works like a charm.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hawthorne, NJ
    Beans
    551
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Angry Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    I was just talking to the guys on IRC #pidgin. It seems like Yahoo is changing their protocols that Pidgin is using.....to be fixed in V2.6.

    Hopefully the Ubuntu repos get updated or it will be while before you can use Yahoo.
    Before Executing commands, understand WHAT you are doing and WHY YOU WOULD WANT TO DO THAT. Some Commands can be VERY dangerous if you are uninformed!

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davao, Philippines
    Beans
    4,830

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jflaker View Post
    I was just talking to the guys on IRC #pidgin. It seems like Yahoo is changing their protocols that Pidgin is using.....to be fixed in V2.6.
    yep, yahoo did notified the public about this

    http://www.ymessengerblog.com/blog/2...ions-60-to-75/

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    Thanks spcwingo! The change in severs worked for me.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: yahoo blocking pidgin ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jflaker View Post
    I was just talking to the guys on IRC #pidgin. It seems like Yahoo is changing their protocols that Pidgin is using.....to be fixed in V2.6.

    Hopefully the Ubuntu repos get updated or it will be while before you can use Yahoo.
    And this update will be available to Hardy users through the repos?

    -Red
    Last edited by redmk2; June 19th, 2009 at 02:09 AM. Reason: added a thought

Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •