Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using sudo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    India
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Exclamation Using sudo

    How can I edit sudoers file so that I can include this path: /usr/local/apache/bin so that I can execute
    Code:
    sudo apachectl start
    without getting any error mesage like command not found?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Beans
    118

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Beans
    252
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Talking Re: Using sudo

    Code:
    sudo su
    You will become sudo till you quit the terminal.
    Registered Linux user,number 507113.02-01-2013: ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO 785G |Athlon 2 X4 640|4 GiB DDR|1 TiB SATA2|Radeon HD 6570(HDMI)|Realtek 7.1 HDMI audio|Gigabit Lan|Kubuntu 12.10 Quanzal AMD64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Beans
    857
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Using sudo

    Quote Originally Posted by Chame_Wizard View Post
    Code:
    sudo su
    You will become sudo till you quit the terminal.
    Or just
    Code:
    su
    will work
    You can follow me at my blog.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    927
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Using sudo

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterMind Karthik View Post
    How can I edit sudoers file so that I can include this path: /usr/local/apache/bin so that I can execute
    Code:
    sudo apachectl start
    without getting any error mesage like command not found?)
    Seems an odd command to be running, Apache is usually started at boot time and shouldn't it be /usr/local/bin/apache? Also, I would advise installing software through the repositories rather than manually.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Beans
    963
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Using sudo

    Quote Originally Posted by techunit View Post
    Or just
    Code:
    su
    will work
    Not unless the root password is enabled, which it isn't by default.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    8,254
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Using sudo

    I believe the preferred method of simulating a root console is this:

    Code:
    sudo -i
    The bottom line, is "sudo -i" is the proper command to run when you want a root shell that is untainted by the user's environment.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...26&postcount=4

    And see bodhi.zazen's response:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...72&postcount=5
    Last edited by Rubi1200; July 11th, 2010 at 08:49 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •