Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: No option to install to first drive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    14

    Question No option to install to first drive

    Hi!

    Upgraded one box that has 2 drives in it to 10.04 no problem.

    Tried doing my other box today, and it won't give me the option to format the /dev/sda drive (first drive), only gives me /dev/sdb as an option.

    /dev/sdb is my media drive. /dev/sda is where the previous version of Ubuntu was installed and I need to be able to install to that drive.

    When I boot the live cd instead of installing, I see both drives under the "Places" menu, so I know ubuntu sees both drives.

    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    14

    Re: No option to install to first drive

    Anyone know why this happens?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    14

    Re: No option to install to first drive - updated with screenshot

    See the attached screenshot to see what I'm talking about.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    3

    Re: No option to install to first drive

    I'm having the same problem. /dev/sda is not showing as an install option. I have two other disks and they are showing. Also, the install doesn't think I have any other OS's and I have both XP and Vista on other partitions.

    I remember this happening before with a previous version and I just don't remember the solution.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    3

    Re: No option to install to first drive

    Ah ha! It took me a few minutes, but I remembered!

    Boot into the live CD and open a terminal window.
    Do 'sudo apt-get remove dmraid'.
    When you run the install program, /dev/sda will show up.

    Hopefully that will work for you (it did for me)!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    14

    Re: No option to install to first drive

    gregmo, thanks for the reply! I will give this a try when I get home today and will report back with my findings.

    Desperately need to do a fresh install on that box. I have had to do upgrades the last two releases and the box is getting sluggish.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    14

    Re: No option to install to first drive

    gregmo, that worked. Thanks so much for posting. Thanks even more for remembering how to fix it!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •