Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    I am interested in this motherboard (due to AGP socket):
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.as...COREDUAL-SATA2

    Among main concerns is this note:
    Audio- 7.1 CH Windows® Vista™ Premium Level HD Audio (ALC888 Audio Codec)

    I googled and it seems someone with an older version of Ubuntu managed to get it work, yet plenty people with other distros had problems (inlcuding SATA recognision and Audio). If it owrks with Ubuntu i plan to stick a celeron in it.

    I also have an old Radeon 9600 XT, which i would like to stick inside. Will it work with Ubuntu?

    At the moment Ubuntu system uses old AMD 733 Mhz, 16 MB ATI Rage and 1.3 GB DDR ram. I plan to stick a 2+ Ghz Celeron to new system and reuse the DDR and old AGP card.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Beans
    3,779

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    The realtek ALC888 should work. Even if it doesnt work out of the box, there are linux drivers up on the realtek site (my 889 didnt work out of the box with some older distros, but I havent had to install the drivers on newer distros)

    9600XT should work. IIRC, ATI has discontinuted driver support for the 9600XT, but it will run with older drivers.

    BTW- AMD 733? Never existed as far as I know. 700 and 750 are around (athlon and duron) but no 733. Also, DDR? Its possible, but most 700750s would have come with SD RAM.

    1.3GB is strange as well.... 1GB + 256MB sticks are the closest I can think of.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    Quote Originally Posted by cascade9 View Post
    The realtek ALC888 should work. Even if it doesnt work out of the box, there are linux drivers up on the realtek site (my 889 didnt work out of the box with some older distros, but I havent had to install the drivers on newer distros)

    9600XT should work. IIRC, ATI has discontinuted driver support for the 9600XT, but it will run with older drivers.

    BTW- AMD 733? Never existed as far as I know. 700 and 750 are around (athlon and duron) but no 733. Also, DDR? Its possible, but most 700750s would have come with SD RAM.

    1.3GB is strange as well.... 1GB + 256MB sticks are the closest I can think of.
    Thanks, that is some good news (i guess). I will then probably go ahead with upgrade...well actually depends on the money if i have any left and if i can get the darn TV tuner to work in Ubuntu.

    well it says AMD II 733Mhz (after BIOS starts up) or something like that. yes, that is correct it's a DDR 256MB+1GB, onbly it is showing in some OS as 1.3 GB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Beans
    3,779

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    Finally, I lost this thread (too busy with other stuff).

    I've had a look around,and I still cant find a 733 AMD. It might be that you have had your BIOS settings go odd (it happens) and something has underclocked your CPU. Its more than likely you have a 1100Mhz Duron or Athlon thats not running @ the proper 100Mhz, its been slowed down to 66Mhz.

    You could try going into your BIOS and checking....733 to 1100 is a nice jump

    Could you please post your output for lspci and lscpu? I'm really wondering how this 733 thing happened.

    *Edit-i just tired the xorg-video-ati (free) driver and it seemed to work really well. Of course, ubuntu might take a while to get the version I just tried but its a good sign for future use.
    Last edited by cascade9; April 8th, 2010 at 10:58 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    lspci
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8366/A/7 [Apollo KT266/A/333]
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8366/A/7 [Apollo KT266/A/333 AGP]
    00:0a.0 Modem: ALi Corporation SmartLink SmartPCI561 56K Modem
    00:0b.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
    00:0b.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
    00:0c.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233A ISA Bridge
    00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
    00:11.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 23)
    00:11.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 23)
    00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 40)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Rage 128 RF/SG AGP
    lscpu
    Code:
    Architecture:          i686
    CPU(s):                1
    Thread(s) per core:    1
    Core(s) per socket:    1
    CPU socket(s):         1
    Vendor ID:             AuthenticAMD
    CPU family:            6
    Model:                 8
    Stepping:              0
    CPU MHz:               733.388
    L1d cache:             64K
    L1i cache:             64K
    L2 cache:              256K
    BAM! 733Mhz

    It actually says Athlon 733CMhz That C is strange isn't it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    Ok so i went to windows partition and used everest home edition there and guess what?!

    I found this:
    Motherboard:
    CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 733 MHz (5.5 x 133)
    Motherboard Name Matsonic MS8137C(+) (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 CNR, 4 DIMM, Audio)
    Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8366A Apollo KT266A
    System Memory 1280 MB (DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type Award Modular (01/10/03)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
    Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

    But i also found this:
    [ Processors / AMD Athlon(tm) XP ]

    Processor Properties:
    Manufacturer AMD
    Version AMD Athlon(tm) XP
    External Clock 133 MHz
    Maximum Clock 1500 MHz
    Current Clock 733 MHz
    Type Central Processor
    Voltage 1.5 V
    Status Enabled
    Upgrade ZIF
    Socket Designation Socket A

    Could it be 1500 Mhz Athlon in here? and if so how come it always ran on 733 Mhz? Even more there doesn't seem to be any settin for CPU speed in BIOS. There is a clock setting that has some Mhz and is currently set at default. It has a few other settings only i am a bit afraid to mess with them. Unless i can find a manual for the Mobo.

    Funny though in Windows My Computer-> Properties also says Athlon Xp (tm) 733Mhz.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    1,879
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    Yes, thats an 1.5Ghz athlon you've got there. You can safely increase the clock speed up to 1500Mhz in bios (most cpus can be safely overclocked with adequate cooling). The OS is correctly recognising the speed the cpu has been set to as it has been underclocked at some point.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    Problem is there is no setting in bios that would say 733 Mhz or have an option 1500Mhz. Maybe it's like 5.5x133Mhz only higher?! I will try and search for this one and increase it. I just hope i dont' fry anything.

    Processor has standard cooler with a fan on top (no watter cooling or any fancy stuff like that).


    Is it possible that different RAM modules would mess up the frequency? one was old 256 MB and one is newer 1 GB (both DDR)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    1,879
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    Your RAM has nothing to do with it. Go into bios and you can increase the clock speed incrementally, just stop when it reaches 1500 and there is no risk of you frying your hardware.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Beans
    3,779

    Re: Need advice on motherboard and GPu compatibility

    I'm sure there is a linux command that would tell me more, but I cant recall what it is now.

    5.5 x 133? o.O Something weird there. Same with 1.5Ghz max clock speed, unless its rounding....there are 1466Mhz Athlons (XP 1700+, 133 x 11) and 1533Mhz (XP 1800+ 133 x 11.5) but no 1.5Ghz Athlons.

    It cant be an overclocked Athlon 550 (100 x 5.5) because that had 512K cache, and ran at 1.6volt, and was a different motherboard, 'slot a' (your board is 'socket a').

    It could be that everest is reporting the FSB Mhz and multipiler wrong. If it is wrong, instead of 133 x 5.5 you would need 266 x 5.5 for 1466Mhz. Or it could be that you have an unlocked CPU, and instead of running the proper 11 x 133, its running 5.5 x 133. Hard to tell.

    I'll have to go and have a look at everest...er..maybe, anyway, if I can find my install discs for XP. Been a while since I've seen it so I'm not sure how it does things.

    I would guess that its a XP 1700+ that has been underclocked- stock they ran at 1.6v or 1.75v, depending on if they were palmino or thoroughbred. By 'always ran this way', did you buy it new, or 2nd hand? Was it sold as a 733Mhz AMD?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •