Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Arrow Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    Hiya everyone I have noticed an annoying bug in firefox with ubuntu and Windows xp, I know how to fix the windows xp one by editing the "Hosts" file, how do I stop ubuntu from displaying same annoying error message?

    I Get a window saying

    Opening st

    You have chosen to open
    st
    Which is a: BIN File
    from: http://ad.yieldmanager.com

    Would you like to save this file?
    (Buttons)
    CANCEL SAVE FILE
    It mainly occurs with yahoo email page, i selected no such file and seems to be linked to an advert of some type.

    Can anyone help with this?
    Last edited by Nightstrike2009; October 5th, 2009 at 10:40 PM.
    Linux Mint 12 (11.10 Based) Gnome 3.0 User

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    you can do the same in Ubuntu by editing /etc/hosts
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    How would i do that in Windows Xp the fix is:

    You can add a line to your HOSTS file to stop it trying to load the ads.

    The Hosts file is found in C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC\ - Open the Hosts file with Notepad. the line to add is:

    127.0.0.1 ad.yieldmanager.com

    right click the Hosts file and uncheck Read Only (If required wasn't neccessary with mine) and save the file.
    I've found the location in ubuntu (from menu bar)

    Places/computer/filesystem/etc/hosts

    It looks different to Windows XP and unsure how to proceed, also get neccessary permissions error blocking me when save is attempted can anyone help?
    Last edited by Nightstrike2009; October 5th, 2009 at 10:54 PM.
    Linux Mint 12 (11.10 Based) Gnome 3.0 User

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    same idea but the file location is /etc/hosts

    to edit the file, press ALT + F2 and enter
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/hosts
    then add
    Code:
    127.0.0.1    ad.yieldmanager.com
    under where the other 127.0.0.1 entries are. Then save the file (file - save) and close. Might want to reboot to ensure it is taking effect after saving the file.

    here is what mine looks like
    Code:
    127.0.0.1	localhost
    127.0.1.1	debian.eastlink.ca	debian
    
    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1     localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    cheers halitech that error annoys the hell outta me
    Linux Mint 12 (11.10 Based) Gnome 3.0 User

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    did that work for you? If it did, edit your first post to change the title to include (solved)
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    2,930

    Re: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    Have you tried adblock plus plugin for firefox? I would wonder if that file is a malacious attack from an advertisement.
    Support 7z in default installs!!!: Click Here

    How to use code blocks to post command output: Click Here
    Official Ubuntu Documentation

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Firefox "You have chosen to open st" File Error

    Yeah been a while halitech took time out for a while was figuring out how to mark my thread as solved, i've done it now LOL

    For new users or confused ones like me to mark thread as solved:

    either go to first post then click edit, then edit again and mark first thread title as [SOLVED]
    or
    go to thread tools at the top in red and select "mark as solved" from pull down menu.
    Nah, lavinog the techs on windows xp side say its a advert but firefox has a problem with it and displays that error, thats what they say anyhow. You guys probably know better as your the real experts after all
    Last edited by Nightstrike2009; October 5th, 2009 at 11:11 PM.
    Linux Mint 12 (11.10 Based) Gnome 3.0 User

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •