Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Angry NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    Hi all,

    I need some help in this. I remember using the NowPlaying screenlet in Gutsy, and it worked very well in retrieving and displaying cover arts from my MP3 files. Since I've upgraded to Hardy and installed the new screenlet (ver 0.1.2), I'm unable to view them at all!

    Here's a sample of the music being played in Amarok:


    And here's the one with the NowPlaying at the right-hand side:


    FYI, the cover art is embedded into the ID3 tags, and believe me when I say that it worked in Gutsy in that condition!

    I hope someone can help me? I'm really into desktop cuztomization, and want to do this a whole lot!

    Thanks!

    p/s: I've already installed the python-dcop as well.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    Bumping this up!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    just to make sure, i've already installed python-dcop, so it shouldn't be that problem...or is it?
    Last edited by jusuchin85; June 18th, 2008 at 08:59 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    658

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    Nah, I think it's because NowPlaying gets the covers from Amazon, and Amazon has changed their databases so it can't find them anymore.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    NowPlaying DOES NOT donwloads cover art from internet, it uses the ones in your PC.

    By the way.. I have the same issue... and it was working before the last screenlets update...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    658

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    Quote Originally Posted by migueletorres View Post
    NowPlaying DOES NOT donwloads cover art from internet, it uses the ones in your PC.

    By the way.. I have the same issue... and it was working before the last screenlets update...
    If NowPlaying can't find a local path for a cover, it does actually try to find the cover from Amazon instead.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    Quote Originally Posted by rune0077 View Post
    #1: Nah, I think it's because NowPlaying gets the covers from Amazon, and Amazon has changed their databases so it can't find them anymore.

    #2: If NowPlaying can't find a local path for a cover, it does actually try to find the cover from Amazon instead.
    Hmm, I don't really think that was the issue. It's true that there's an option for NowPlaying to attain covers from Amazon, but maybe what you pointed out is true as well; since Amazon has changed their database and all.

    Quote Originally Posted by migueletorres View Post
    NowPlaying DOES NOT donwloads cover art from internet, it uses the ones in your PC.

    By the way.. I have the same issue... and it was working before the last screenlets update...
    Yeah, I have to agree with you on that part; the last version before the latest one worked out perfectly! I remember it attaining the covers directly from the ID3 tags of the playing MP3.

    Hmm, it could be the Python codes, but I'm not really sure. If anyone out there who are using the screenlet and making it work under Hardy, I hope I can hear a solution from you! Thanks (Honto arigatou!)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    I've Just tested NowPlaying with rhythmbox, and cover art works well, so it is an issue only on amarok.

    Can somebody help us?
    Last edited by migueletorres; June 21st, 2008 at 11:58 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Talking Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    hello all,

    sorry for the late reply. been having exams this week, so real life issues come first!

    anyways;

    @migueletorres

    thanks for testing out with rhythmbox. too bad it didnt work under amarok for you too. i'll try to report to the developer of this version and see whet he can do abt it.

    also, i've tested with screenlets version 0.0.14, and it worked great! The NowPlaying screenlet works like a charm. so definitely an issue with the 0.1.2. So, in the meantime, i'm using this version for the moment...until the matter is resolved!
    Last edited by jusuchin85; June 27th, 2008 at 07:41 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    2

    Re: NowPlaying Screenlet + Amarok = No Cover Shown

    Hey guy! I did it!!
    www.screenlets.org
    1. i just deleted any mention to screenlets
    2. add to your sources.list deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/gilir/ubuntu gutsy main universe.
    3. install from synaptic then screenlets
    4. Nowplaying works with amarok now.
    Bye and luck!!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •