Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: White screen after resume

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Örebro, Sweden
    Beans
    491

    White screen after resume

    Since upgdrading to 8.04, I get a white screen with a visible cursor after resuming from hibernate, if I use compiz. If I type in my password (blindly) my desktop appears, so it's not a critical failure, but confusing for some users. It worked well in 7.10. I have an Nvidia card (6600) using driver version 169.12. I saw one post that suggested to disable "sync to vblank" in nvidia-settings. I did that, but it didn't help. Any other ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London
    Beans
    77
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: White screen after resume

    Can you post your xorg.conf?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Örebro, Sweden
    Beans
    491

    Re: White screen after resume

    Sure can:
    Code:
    Section "Files"
    
    
        #FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/local/"
        FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
        FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
        FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
        FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
        FontPath	"/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
        FontPath 	"/usr/share/fonts/corefonts"
    
    EndSection
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Module section -- this is an optional section which is used to specify
    # which run-time loadable modules to load when the X server starts up.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "Module"
    
        Load	"dbe"
        Load	"i2c"
        Load	"glx"
        Load	"ddc"
        Load	"type1"
        Load	"freetype"
        Load	"extmod"
        Load	"synaptics"
        Load	"vbe"
    #   Load        "dri"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Server flags section.  This contains various server-wide Options.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
    
         Option 	"AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"
    
    EndSection
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Input devices
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Core keyboard's InputDevice section
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier		"Synaptics1"
        Driver		"synaptics"
        Option		"SendCoreEvents"	"true"
        Option		"Device"		"/dev/psaux"
        Option		"Protocol"		"auto-dev"
        Option		"HorizScrollDelta"	"0"
        Option		"SHMConfig"		"on"
        # For ALPS/MacBook TouchPads
        #Option		"MaxSpeed"		"0.7"
        #Option		"MinSpeed"		"0.18"
        #Option		"AccelFactor"		"0.08"
        #Option		"TopEdge"		"120"
        #Option		"LeftEdge"		"120"
        #Option		"BottomEdge"		"830"
        #Option		"RightEdge"		"650"
        #Option		"FingerLow"		"25"
        #Option		"FingerHigh"		"30"
        # MacBook touchpad
        #Option		"MaxTapTime"		"180"
        #Option		"MaxTapMove"		"220"
        #Option		"MaxDoubleTapTime"	"180"
        #Option		"VertScrollDelta"	"20"
        #Option		"HorizScrollDelta"	"50" 
        #Option		"TapButton2"		"3"
        #Option		"TapButton3"		"2"
        #Option		"VertTwoFingerScroll"	"1"
    
        # Do you keep moving the mouse while typing? Try this trick.
        #synclient TouchpadOff=1 disable your synaptics touchpad
        #synclient TouchpadOff=0 enable your synaptics touchpad
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        Identifier	"Keyboard1"
        Driver	"kbd"
        
        Option	"AutoRepeat"	"500 5"
        Option      "XkbModel"      "pc105"
        Option	"XkbLayout"	"us"
        Option      "XkbRules"      "xorg"
        # Macintosh keyboard
        #Option	"XkbOptions"	"lv3:rwin_switch"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
      Driver        "wacom"
      Identifier    "wacom1"
      Option        "Device"        "/dev/wacom"          # Change to 
                                                          # /dev/input/event
                                                          # for USB
      Option        "Type"          "stylus"
      Option        "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"               # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
      Driver        "wacom"
      Identifier    "wacom2"
      Option        "Device"        "/dev/wacom"          # Change to 
                                                          # /dev/input/event
                                                          # for USB
      Option        "Type"          "eraser"
      Option        "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"               # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
      Driver        "wacom"
      Identifier    "wacom3"
      Option        "Device"        "/dev/wacom"          # Change to 
                                                          # /dev/input/event
                                                          # for USB
      Option        "Type"          "cursor"
      Option        "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"               # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection
    
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Core Pointer's InputDevice section
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
    # Identifier and driver
    
        Identifier	"Mouse1"
        Driver	"mouse"
    
        Option	"Device"	"/dev/psaux"
        Option	"Protocol"	"ImPS/2"
        Option	"ZAxisMapping"	"4 5"
         
    EndSection
    
    # Section "InputDevice"
    #     Identifier	"Mouse2"
    #     Driver	"mouse"
    #     Option	"Protocol"	"ImPS/2"
    #     Option	"Device"	"/dev/input/mice"
    #     Option 	"ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    # EndSection
    
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Monitor section
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # Any number of monitor sections may be present
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
        Identifier	"Generic Monitor"
        #Option      "DPMS"
    
        VertRefresh 48-170
        HorizSync 30-137
    	
    EndSection
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Graphics device section
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # Any number of graphics device sections may be present
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "VESA"
        Driver      "nvidia" # do not remove vesa
        #Option "RenderAccel" "on"
        Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
        #Option "BusType" "PCI"
        #Option "ColorTiling" "on"
        #Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
        Option  "NvAGP" "1"
        Option  "NoLogo" "true"
    EndSection
    
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Screen sections.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "Screen"
    
    # The Identifier, Device and Monitor lines must be present
    
        Identifier	"Screen 1"
        Device	"VESA"
        Monitor	"Generic Monitor"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    
    # The favoured Depth and/or Bpp may be specified here
    
        DefaultDepth 24
    
        SubSection "Display"
            Depth		8
            ViewPort	0 0
            Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
    
        SubSection "Display"
            Depth           16
            ViewPort        0 0
            Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
    
        SubSection "Display"
            Depth           24
            ViewPort        0 0
            Modes  "1600x1200" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
    
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    # The Identifier line must be present
    
        Identifier	"Main Layout"
        Screen 0 	"Screen 1"
        InputDevice	"Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    #    InputDevice	"Mouse2" "SendCoreEvents"
        #InputDevice "Synaptics1" "SendCoreEvents"
        #InputDevice "wacom1" "SendCoreEvents"
        #InputDevice "wacom2" "SendCoreEvents"
        #InputDevice "wacom3" "SendCoreEvents"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
        Mode 0666
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
       Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London
    Beans
    77
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: White screen after resume

    sorry nothing I can pinpoint in your file.

    However, look at this bug report:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...er/+bug/219388
    Looks like your issue.. Sorry they dont seem to have any solution yet (apart from disabling your desktop effects).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Boston, USA
    Beans
    524
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: White screen after resume

    The bug previously shown is a duplicate. Always go to the original bug for the latest information. I have been tracking this one closely because I get the white screen with fast user switching and compiz.

    While the problem is an known nVidia bug, they just published a workaround-fix for it today...check it out:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...iz/+bug/160264

    If you want, you can download the patch from the developers repo. Gotta love this open source eh?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Angry Re: White screen after resume

    I'm having this same exact problem. I've been looking thru this post and links provided for the fix and from what I can tell I download compiz-core_0.7.4-0ubuntu6+ppa1_i386.deb file and run it? I'm on Ubuntu 8.04, i386, Nvidia 5200 FX. Is that correct? (sorry for my newbness )

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Boston, USA
    Beans
    524
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: White screen after resume

    I just tried the fix myself and it works. Here's what I did:

    1) Edit your source.list file to add the test repo from the developer:

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    then add the following line:

    Code:
    deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/superm1/ubuntu hardy main
    save and exit.

    2) Start synaptic and hit "reload"...exit

    3) The update manager will start telling you you have updates. Tell it to go ahead and upgrade the packages.

    4) Log out...log in...

    Enjoy the fix.

    I plan to remote the line from my sources.list right away. It's not good to have a test repo always updating your system. The developer hasn't stated when a permanent fix will be available. My guess...October.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Örebro, Sweden
    Beans
    491

    Re: White screen after resume

    That's it. Great, thanks.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •