Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY, USA
    Beans
    26
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Angry DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

    I am attempting to install ubuntu 9.04 onto a NewWorld G3 iMac.
    Specs are as follows:
    400MHz PowerPC processor
    128 mb of RAM
    13 GB HDD
    cd/DVD drive (slot loading)

    The original OS is not existent as when i purchased it the original HDD died and I'm using a new one. When booting using hte live CD i get to the black terminal screen where it askes me for instructions, i press enter to boot into the live CD and then i get to an open firmware prompt which says

    Code:
    done
    copying OF device tree ...
    Can't allocate initial device-tree chunk
    
    DEFAULT CATCH!, code=700 at   %SRR0: 01806bac    &SRR1: 00023030
    Then i get a prompt:
    ok
    0 >

    Now I am a PC pro, a intermediate linux guy and a Mac newbie (first mac i picked up ever).
    I want to make it run as this is just a side project for me. How do i get ubuntu to install onto this box? Am I doing something wrong? Or am I missing something?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Western Australia
    Beans
    11,480
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

    I don't know what the error is; but it may be an incorrectly burned disc. Sounds like a dumb question, but you ARE using the PowerPC edition and not the i386 edition? That era of Macintosh used the PowerPC processor and requires its own special edition of Ubuntu.
    I try to treat the cause, not the symptom. I avoid the terminal in instructions, unless it's easier or necessary. My instructions will work within the Ubuntu system, instead of breaking or subverting it. Those are the three guarantees to the helpee.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    2,930
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

    some reading before you go on:
    http://mac.linux.be/content/apple-powerpc-wiki
    Linux on your Apple Mac │ iLinux
    http://mac.linux.be
    http://www.mintppc.org

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY, USA
    Beans
    26
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

    Yes, i am using the PPC version of Ubuntu. ( was clever enough to get that far ) I get the ubuntu/yaboot prompt to boot up the live cd when i hold down the C key on the boot chime. Once i type live, or anything at all, then press enter, I get the open firmware prompt.

    This may sound silly, but can you use any HDD in a Mac? Maybe the HDD in it is dead? Not sure, i wouldn't know how to tell within just open firmware if its detected or not.

    I have a ton of IDE drives lying around, but cracking this thing open is a terrible pain in the butt for just replacing one drive let alone trying a ton of them. I read the spec's online for my machine and it says that it uses ultra IDE so, will any IDE drive work? How can i tell if the one installed is detected?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    2,930
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

    At that point of the installation, your hard disk does not yet come into play. The problem is that it won't boot into the Linux environment after that. My personal experience is that CDROM drives of old Apple machines do not work well. I advise to do a net-installation.
    Use this mini.iso and follow these directions.

    Good luck. I will see you back soon for solving your X problem
    Linux on your Apple Mac │ iLinux
    http://mac.linux.be
    http://www.mintppc.org

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY, USA
    Beans
    26
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

    ahahah, yea, im sure. I did find some tutorials out there for that. I'll give this a try this weekend when i get a chance to. Ill read this over and give it a shot as soon as i can.

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    8

    Installed and WAS running

    I had installed and had the system running with no problems, i believe my wife turned the box off without first shutting it down properly, but now I get this error message
    using the yaboot loader i have tried to load alternate kernel images and they do load from the hard disk (so it may be in need of a fsck but it is not dead) but once the ramdisk is loaded it pops back to the open firmware prompt stating nearly identicle error

    done
    copying OF device tree ...
    Can't allocate initial device-tree chunk

    DEFAULT CATCH!, code=300 at %SRR0: ...

    this is an iMac (old blue bubble machine) 4Gb hd, 160Mb ram 233Mhz PPC

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •