Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Dual Monitors displayed as one large "Laptop" Display

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkadelphia, Arkansas
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Unhappy Dual Monitors displayed as one large "Laptop" Display

    I just want to preface this with the fact that the people on these forums have always been VERY helpful, and that's why I come back to request help again.

    I recently came back to Ubuntu after a long stint with Windows 7, as I learned that gaming with Steam was now a very viable possibility. I have an nVidia GTX 550 Ti graphics card with two Dual-Link DVI monitors (Acer S202HL) attached.

    When I open the System Settings and go to Displays, there is one large display labeled "Laptop." The resolution is accurate for two 1600x900 monitors next to each other (3200x900), but they should be appearing as separate monitors, should they not? I have installed the current nVidia drivers and the cutting-edge (beta, I would suppose) drivers. I can configure the two monitors separately with no troubles there.

    Now comes the real problem; the combined display wouldn't be a problem if it didn't prevent me from playing CoD:MW2 in any resolution than 3200x900. I tried forcing the resolution from the config file, but it resets to 3200x900 every time. When the game is fullscreen, the game fills the leftmost monitor (the one I want it to be on), but I can't move my cursor past the halfway point of the screen; it "glitches" over to my second monitor and gets stuck. When I press Alt+Enter to send the game into windowed mode, the window is full size at 3200x900. I can pull it across both, monitors, but I would like to be able to have either the game windowed at a smaller resolution or fullscreen in a normal way.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Dual Monitors displayed as one large "Laptop" Display

    1. You have ubuntu 9.10 as it is written in your profile? If yes then it's way too old to work properly with newest devices...
    2. You're playing through wine? If yes then try with wine configuration.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkadelphia, Arkansas
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Dual Monitors displayed as one large "Laptop" Display

    No, sorry, I'm running 12.04 with all the latest updates. I haven't been on the forums since 2010 or so. I've tried messing with Wine, but to no avail. I remember seeing something about games stretching about dual monitors, but I can't seem to find it no matter how much Google-fu I use.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, New York
    Beans
    513
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Dual Monitors displayed as one large "Laptop" Display

    Quote Originally Posted by iSephy View Post
    No, sorry, I'm running 12.04 with all the latest updates. I haven't been on the forums since 2010 or so. I've tried messing with Wine, but to no avail. I remember seeing something about games stretching about dual monitors, but I can't seem to find it no matter how much Google-fu I use.
    I'm plagued with the same. I doesn't have anything to do with Wine because I don't use Wine. I have changed and tested the two "Additions Drivers" option. That doesn't fix it.

    I'm running the latest of all driver updates on Ubuntu 12.04.

    I never experienced this problem with any of the previous Ubuntu versions.

    The nVidia setting tool shows the monitors as to distinct objects. But Ubuntu's system display settings shows the two monitors as on large laptop screen.

    This flaw is causing the mouse to be stuck between displays.

    -- L. James

    --
    L. D. James
    ljames@apollo3.com
    www.apollo3.com/~ljames

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Dual Monitors displayed as one large "Laptop" Display

    It shouldn't be a problem using 12.04. It is improved now, the drivers were better too.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Buffalo, New York
    Beans
    513
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Dual Monitors displayed as one large "Laptop" Display

    Quote Originally Posted by smartboyhw View Post
    It shouldn't be a problem using 12.04. It is improved now, the drivers were better too.
    I agree. It shouldn't be a problem, especially 4 months of release, bug fix and tweaking. I'm really surprised there isn't a solution.

    Since Ubuntu's display settings doesn't see two monitors there no relief from the stuck mouse between display syndrome. Having to fight the to get the mouse to the alternate screen is extremely disruptive to my work flow.

    After the fight to get it to the next screen (because I have to jerk it to get it there, then I have to spend time to find out where it appears. There are times that moving it puts it back to the wrong screen and I have to start the struggle over to get it to the desired screen.

    I can't imagine anyone seeing a stickiness between screens as productive in any way. I wish I could see the developers trying to work with dual monitors, who what they see in designing stickiness when trying to switch.

    -- L. James

    --
    L. D. James
    ljames@apollo3.com
    www.apollo3.com/~ljames

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •