Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Add Universal Reposity - Synaptic

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    93

    Add Universal Repository - Synaptic

    This is almost a "double post", but my inital question lead to repositories... so, I'm posting this in here.

    How can I add the Universal Repository without having a network connection?
    Last edited by search66; February 21st, 2005 at 04:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Bern, Switzerland
    Beans
    578

    Re: Add Universal Reposity - Synaptic

    Quote Originally Posted by search66
    This is almost a "double post", but my inital question lead to repositories... so, I'm posting this in here.

    How can I add the Universal Repository without having a network connection?
    I'm not sure if I understand your question right. You just want to add the repository?

    Open a terminal and write
    Code:
    sudo /etc/apt/sources.list
    then you add the universal repository to it
    for warty:
    Code:
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ warty universe
     deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ wary universe
    for hoary:
    Code:
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hoary universe
     deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hoary universe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    93

    Re: Add Universal Reposity - Synaptic

    Yea, I got that part... But doesn't the HTTP mean that it's trying to locate the set via the internet? The workstation doesn't have a network connection yet.

    I tried to add it via Synaptic, but it gave me about a half-dozen "warnings" because of an invalid path...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Bern, Switzerland
    Beans
    578

    Re: Add Universal Reposity - Synaptic

    Quote Originally Posted by search66
    Yea, I got that part... But doesn't the HTTP mean that it's trying to locate the set via the internet? The workstation doesn't have a network connection yet.

    I tried to add it via Synaptic, but it gave me about a half-dozen "warnings" because of an invalid path...
    Ah okay, I missunderstood you. You want to add a repository of universe which is not on the internet. I don't know how to do that. You must make kind of a mirror from the universe repository I guess.

    But the main repository you have also on CD. You'll have most important applications available without internet connection.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    93

    Re: Add Universal Repository - Synaptic

    Ok, I'm back to square one. Can anyone tell me how to add the universal repository without having an internet connection? Is it on the CD? If so, how can I install it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London
    Beans
    6

    Re: Add Universal Repository - Synaptic

    Quote Originally Posted by search66
    Is it on the CD? If so, how can I install it?
    it isn't, so you can't.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •