PDA

View Full Version : More C++ Help :)

feedmeh8
December 1st, 2008, 11:57 AM
Im stumped :confused:

Question : Write a C program to accept a value from the user and determine if the number is odd or even. Do not use the modulus operator.

would appreciate any help on this one ty :D

tjandracom
December 1st, 2008, 12:13 PM
Do not use the modulus operator.

then use fmod() function. modulus operator works only on integers. fmod() function works on float/double numbers. :)

dribeas
December 1st, 2008, 12:14 PM
You can check whether the least significant bit is set (odd number) [This assumes we are talking about integer numbers]

feedmeh8
December 1st, 2008, 12:16 PM
I am pretty much an absolute beginner and have no idea what those are :p

sambita
December 1st, 2008, 01:40 PM
I believe something like this should work:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
float arg;
cout<<"Please enter number: ";
cin>>arg;
float aux = arg/2;
int x = (int)aux;
if(aux == x)
cout<<"It's even"<<endl;
else
cout<<"It's odd"<<endl;
}

The other solutions posted here should work as well, but maybe this is more whats intended in an absolute beginners course. Hope it helps! :)

Zugzwang
December 1st, 2008, 01:51 PM
I believe something like this should work:

[...]

That doesn't need to work (hint: "==" on floating point numbers does not make much sense due to rounding errors).

@OP: So you have given a task you are unable to solve right now. Maybe the goal of this excercise is to get you started with reading into programming on your own. Normally, if you are given a task and you have no clue how to do it, then something went wrong. You might want to discuss this with the person who gave you this task.

Note that we're having a policy on homework here!

sambita
December 1st, 2008, 02:01 PM
That doesn't need to work (hint: "==" on floating point numbers does not make much sense due to rounding errors).