PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Ubuntu Directory & File Structure

CarolinaGuy
November 30th, 2008, 11:52 PM
Im new to the linux operating system and to Ubuntu. I have my SAMBA SERVER SYSTEM setup using an Athlon 1800+ on a ASUS A7N266-C motherboard. The system hard drive is an 80G hard drive and is now sda1.

I plan to add 3 additional IDE hard drives to this system.

sda1 ubuntu8.04 Server Edition -- 80g
sdb1 - Music -- 250g
sdb2 - Photos -- 250g
sdc1 Movies - 750g
sdd1 TV Recordings - 500g

Looking at this article:

http://ubuntu-tutorials.com/2006/12/20/explanation-of-the-ubuntu-linux-file-structure-ubuntu-all-versions/

/media - mounted (or loaded) devices such as cdroms, digital cameras, etc.
/mnt - mounted file systems

It seems to me that it will be adequate to mount these new drives in either /mnt or /media, but /mnt would be my preferred directory. Anyone with a similar setup care to comment on their setup. The sole purpose of the server is to stream music, photos and movies throughout the house.

DOES THIS SOUND LIKE A GOOD PLAN?

CarolinaGuy

jgoguen
December 1st, 2008, 03:23 PM
That seems somewhat wrong to me. I believe Ubuntu follows the filesystem hierarchy standard, where /mnt is for temporarily mounted file systems and /media is for mounting removable media. For what you want to do, following the FHS, I would say everything should be mounted under /srv. I prefer to have subdirectories under /srv denote services provided (ftp, www, smb, etc.) but there's no standard for that. You could probably do /srv/photos/, /srv/music/, etc.

That's of course if you want to follow the standard. Nothing prevents you from making new directories under /media or /mnt and mounting everything there. I admit to breaking the standard by forcing my USB key to mount in a directory inside my home directory :)

louieb
December 1st, 2008, 03:29 PM