PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation hangs at early stage

NautiusMaximus
November 30th, 2008, 10:09 PM
Hi All

I'm trying to install Ubuntu 8.10 on a PC that's currently running Windows XP. It's a Fujitsu Siemens Scaleo P, 3.2GHz Pentium 4 processor, 1 GB of RAM, about 250 GB disk space.

I've downloaded the Ubuntu ISO image, checked the md5 sum, and burned to CD. I can boot from the CD, and it gives me a menu of options. If I select "Install Ubuntu", the installation hangs. I get a blank screen with a flashing cursor in the top left corner, and nothing else. I don't even get as far as options to install as dual boot or replace Windows (my intention is to replace Windows).

I'm a bit of a newbie with Linux, so apologies if there's something really obvious I'm doing wrong here, but I'm a bit stumped about what to do next. Any suggestions?

Thanks
NM

Pumalite
November 30th, 2008, 10:15 PM
Have you been able to boot the Live CD, getting to the Desktop?

slmouradian
November 30th, 2008, 10:19 PM
did you check the CD for defects?

Although the ISO was ok (md5 check), perhaps something got corrupt during burning.

NautiusMaximus
November 30th, 2008, 10:20 PM
No, that does the same thing: just a flashing cursor on an otherwise blank screen.

NautiusMaximus
November 30th, 2008, 10:23 PM
... and clicking the "Check CD for defects" option also gives me my blank screen with a flashing cursor.

This is the second CD I've burned (I did wonder if the first one might be a dud) with the same result.

Pumalite
November 30th, 2008, 10:31 PM
Graphics Card and Monitor?

NautiusMaximus
November 30th, 2008, 10:40 PM
The graphics card is an NVIDIA GeForce 6200 TurboCache. The monitor is a Philips 170C.

Pumalite
November 30th, 2008, 10:55 PM
I'd try the Alternate CD; text based installer designed to avoid graphics problems.
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation#Installation%20using%20the%20Alternat e%20CD

NautiusMaximus
December 1st, 2008, 09:01 AM