PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot install 8.10, last message "checking battery state..."

joke*
November 30th, 2008, 07:47 PM
Hi,
I'm new to ubuntu (well, I've installed 1 time, but that was a failure too, because I was writing a thesis atm and I didn't feel like reïnstalling all my needed programs. Linux had been on my computer until it was stolen (bastards!), but I never used it...)

So, I'm trying to install Ubuntu (unlike the other time) on an Acer Aspire 5920. As long as I didn't install, everything went well with the CD, found internet, could actually do things.

Now I was installing it, and I was just partitioning the thing, I think it was just finished, and this code came upon my screen:

Starting System Tools Backends system-tools-backends [OK]
Starting deferred execution scheduler atd [OK]
Starting periodic command scheduler crond [OK]
Checking battery state... [OK]

It hasn't changed in an hour...

shoo56
November 30th, 2008, 11:47 PM
Hi, I'm having exactly the same problem with my acer aspire 5920 trying to dual boot with xp. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix it?

bubbafrye
January 12th, 2009, 04:32 AM
Same here. I was trying to do a fresh install over an old Dapper Drake I had.

I loaded up the 8.10 Live CD and chose install from the main menu [not the Live CD environment].

I set location, language, formatted the partition and started installing. Files were copying and all seemed well until things started loading.

Right after the "Checking Battery State" line, my screen flickered a few times then sat at the "Checking Battery State" for another hour or so.

The big bummer is that my GRUB loader is busted now [Error 2] and I had to change my BIOS just to get back to my XP drive. [I have Ubuntu on my Primary Master and XP on a separate Primary Slave drive]

Thanks for any feedback!

tark
January 15th, 2009, 01:11 PM
Same here. I was trying to do a fresh install over an old Dapper Drake I had.