PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu ISO image checksum error

rschreiber
November 30th, 2008, 05:23 PM
I am new to Ubuntu (SUSE refugee) and am working on my first install. I downloaded ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso (732,766,208 bytes) and burned it to a CD using NERO8 Burning ROM with validation turned on. All went just fine.

When I use the "Check CD for defects" i get this error:

With the progress bar at about 60% I get...

Checking integrity, this may take some time
Check finished: errors found in 1 files!
Press any key to reboot your system

I re-downloaded the .iso from another mirror, burned another CD and got the identical results.

Any idea what is wrong with the image? I would think that this is failing all over the place?

oilchangeguy
November 30th, 2008, 05:33 PM
I am new to Ubuntu (SUSE refugee) and am working on my first install. I downloaded ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso (732,766,208 bytes) and burned it to a CD using NERO8 Burning ROM with validation turned on. All went just fine.

When I use the "Check CD for defects" i get this error:

With the progress bar at about 60% I get...

Checking integrity, this may take some time
Check finished: errors found in 1 files!
Press any key to reboot your system

I re-downloaded the .iso from another mirror, burned another CD and got the identical results.

Any idea what is wrong with the image? I would think that this is failing all over the place?

make sure you are downloading from ubuntu's website. and burn the iso as an image at the slowest possible speed.

gpsmikey
November 30th, 2008, 07:33 PM
The fact you see the same thing from two different mirrors is suspicious. You say Nero burned and verified the burn, so that should be OK. Did you try the MD5 sum of the downloaded ISO? If they match, then it almost sounds like the check on the CD is bad, not your download/burn. Double check the MD5 on the ISO - it sounds like you are burning from ******* - there are a number of md5 sum utilities for windows.