PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] can't boot into windows after instal

licksick
November 30th, 2008, 08:27 AM
I had Win XP already installed on a hard drive (dev/sda1 I believe), and now after installing Ubuntu 8.10 onto a separate hard disk (dev/sdc)the grub menu doesn't show my windows installation. I am a newbie to ubuntu/grub and I just want to find my windows installation rather than reinstall.

I'm not really sure how to find out what EXACTLY I would need to add to grub/menu.lst to make it work. I have tried several things but none seem to work.

caljohnsmith
November 30th, 2008, 03:09 PM
OK, how about opening a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal), and please post the output of:

sudo fdisk -lu
Also, for each of the drives fdisk lists, like sda, sdb, etc, please post the output of:

sudo xxd -l 2 -p /dev/sda
So replace "sda" above with each of your drives. And finally, for each command above that returns "eb48", please post:

sudo xxd -s 1049 -l 2 -p /dev/sda
And replace sda with the drives that previously returned "eb48". That will greatly clarify what your setup is like so I can help you boot Windows from Grub. :)

licksick
November 30th, 2008, 09:26 PM
sudo fdisk -lu returns:

disk /dev/sda: 10.2GB, 10242892800 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1323 cylinders, total 20005650 sectors
units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
disk identifier: 0x32513250

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 63 19988639 9994288+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 5169 cylinders, total 78165360 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xd0c4b2ef

/dev/sdb1 63 78140159 39070048+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdb4 * 0 0 0 0 Empty
Partition 4 does not end on cylinder boundary.

Disk /dev/sdc: 20.4 GB, 20416757760 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2482 cylinders, total 39876480 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xea1aa9c7