PDA

View Full Version : I love Vista. Convert a newbie to Ubuntu...

rpeters83
November 30th, 2008, 07:39 AM
I've been a windows guy since my first 386 Compaq with DOS and Windows 3.1. I'm a big fan of Vista I'll admit. However, I'm very interested in trying something new, mainly Ubuntu. I have 8.10 running on a separate partition and it's all set up to dual boot between Vista 32-bit and Ubuntu 64-bit.

I'm very new to Ubuntu, though I have used Linux sparingly in the past. I'm trying to get familiar with the software and the user mindset of the community. Right now I tweaked my desktop with Compiz and played with the effects, as well as played around with the Add/Remove programs tools (I'm even typing this post on it).

I have some features that I love about Vista that I'm not sure how, or if possible, to turn them on or enable them in Ubuntu. If you could, help me out. I'm not here to bash (rimshot?), but have noticed some initial pros and cons.

SEARCH (most important)
I love how in Vista I can press the Start key and instantly type in stuff to find such as files or apps. Is it possible to do the same actions in ubuntu? I know there are search features and some program called Beagle seems pretty popular, but is it possible to get that same action on ubuntu?

ALIGN ICONS TO GRID
I can do this easily in Vista and it works. I can adjust the horizontal and vertical heights to my liking. On Ubuntu, I've figured out how to increase the icon size, but as far as alignment, mainly vertical alignment (they seem to have small, vertical locking increments) I would like to see this in Ubuntu or know how to adjust it.

HOTMAIL SUPPORT
I use Windows Live Mail on Vista and use hotmail as my email. Is there a way to get Evolution or even Thunderbird to work with this? I found an extension for Thunderbird but can't seem to get it to work.

CHOPPY VIDEO WITH COMPIZ