PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] USB Persistent with multiple partitions

cjpbob
November 28th, 2008, 11:27 PM
I really enjoy the simplicity and speed of my persistent USB installation of Ubuntu 8.10, but my work requires me to keep my Windows build as my primary operating system.

My one gripe about using the USB ubuntu is that I can't figure out how to allocate only a portion of my 8GB drive to ubuntu. Ideally, I'd like to give it 4GB and keep the remaining 4GB(likely in a different partition) that can be accessed as file storage by both my windows OS and ubuntu.

Has anyone done this or at least know how? I'm new to this and the only experience I have with setting up ubuntu is from following instructions from places like pendrivelinux. If you have any help to offer, try to remember that I don't know much about this.

Thanks!

Mud.Knee.Havoc
November 29th, 2008, 01:18 AM
If I understand you correctly, you should be able to specify the size of your Ubuntu partition when creating the persistent installation.

If you have an 8GB stick, tell it to use half of that, then the other half should be able to be formatted later on using gparted.

EDIT: With gparted, you would create a FAT16 or FAT32 partition in the remaining (empty) half of the drive. Warning! I haven't done this myself - I just went for the full 8GB. But it should work just like any other drive, as far as I can see.

cjpbob
November 30th, 2008, 02:20 AM
I redid my partitions and now am running the persistent version on a small 750MB partition and have a little over 3 allocated to casper.

I have the last half of my drive completely unallocated, but I can't figure out how to create a partition on it that is accessible in both Ubuntu and Windows. I can make a FAT16/32 partition with gparted, but I can't activate it from within Windows to assign it to a drive letter with the windows disk manager.