PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with updates /installing please!!

bridges0123
November 28th, 2008, 04:20 AM
Ok so i'm new to the whole unix/linux system so any help is appreciated. ok so on to my question, i just put ubuntu on my computer and for some reason i'm not getting the update balloon at the top of my screen for downloading updates, is there a way to make that show up/ does it download all updates? or do i have to go online and download every single little package? also how do you install programs on a computer after i unzip them? thanks!!!

-bridges

taurus
November 28th, 2008, 04:27 AM
What happens when you run these two commands from a terminal?

Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingSoftware
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CompilingEasyHowTo

bridges0123
November 28th, 2008, 04:32 AM
i get a message like this

Ign cdrom://Ubuntu 7.10 _Gutsy Gibbon_ - Release i386 (20071017) gutsy/main Translation-en_US
Ign cdrom://Ubuntu 7.10 _Gutsy Gibbon_ - Release i386 (20071017) gutsy/restricted Translation-en_US
E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

brigadoon
November 28th, 2008, 04:33 AM
Can you manually check for updates through the Ubuntu interface? Go to the top menu bar an select...

System/Administration/Update Manager

Let us know if it activates.

taurus
November 28th, 2008, 04:34 AM
Make sure you close down synaptic, add/remove, or update-manager before you run those two commands from a terminal.

bridges0123
November 28th, 2008, 04:42 AM