PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual monitor on desktop using intel 915G



shyamsg
November 26th, 2008, 07:06 PM
I had hardy --kubuntu-- before this and had dual monitors working using VGA and DVI outputs. I was using the i810 driver with Xinerama. I was using a KDE with openbox as my window decorator. This is the old xorg.conf file which worked perfectly fine.


Section "Files"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi"
# path to defoma fonts
FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "bitmap"
#Load "GLcore"
Load "ddc"
Load "dbe"
#Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "AOC"
Driver "i810"
Option "MonitorLayout" "CRT,DFP"
Option "DDCMode" "True"
Screen 0
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "DELL"
Driver "i810"
Option "MonitorLayout" "CRT,DFP"
Option "DDCMode" "True"
Screen 1
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "AOC"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30 - 83
VertRefresh 56 - 76
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "DELL"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 31 - 80
VertRefresh 56 - 76
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "AOC"
Device "AOC"
Monitor "AOC"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "DELL"
Device "DELL"
Monitor "DELL"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "TwoScreens"
Screen 0 "AOC"
Screen 1 "DELL" LeftOf "AOC"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
Option "Xinerama" "true"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "DefaultServerLayout" "TwoScreens"
EndSection





I upgraded to intrepid and i have tried a bunch of stuff but nothing works. On top of that I read in the man screen for the driver 'intel' (i810 no longer being offered) that it does not yet support DVI output.
I tried using both a default KDE session and the openbox session with no luck.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Shyam

themtx
November 26th, 2008, 09:20 PM
You should be able to figure something out w/xrandr. Here's the output from xrandr on my Intel 82Q35 Dell Optiplex 755 w/a VGA + DVI dual setup:

xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2560 x 1024, maximum 2560 x 1024
VGA connected 1280x1024+1280+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
1280x1024 60.0*+ 75.0 60.0 60.0*
1600x1024 60.2
1440x900 59.9
1280x960 60.0
1360x768 59.8
1152x864 75.0 75.0 75.0 70.0 60.0
1024x768 75.1 75.0 70.1 60.0
832x624 74.6
800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
640x480 75.0 72.8 75.0 60.0 59.9
720x400 70.1
TMDS-1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
1280x1024 60.0*+ 75.0 60.0 60.0*
1600x1024 60.2
1440x900 59.9
1280x960 60.0
1360x768 59.8
1152x864 75.0 75.0 75.0 70.0 60.0
1024x768 75.1 75.0 70.1 60.0
832x624 74.6
800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
640x480 75.0 72.8 75.0 60.0 59.9
720x400 70.1

Here's the section(s) from my xorg.conf that do the magic:

Section "Device"
BoardName "915G"
Driver "intel"
Identifier "Device[0]"
VendorName "Intel"
Option "NoAccel" "false"
Option "XVideo" "on"
Option "monitor-VGA" "Monitor[1]"
Option "monitor-TMDS-1" "Monitor[0]"
Option "AccelMethod" "exa"
Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
Option "ExaNoComposite" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
BoardName "915G"
Driver "intel"
Identifier "Device[1]"
VendorName "Intel"
Option "NoAccel" "false"
Option "XVideo" "on"
Option "monitor-VGA" "Monitor[1]"
Option "monitor-TMDS-1" "Monitor[0]"
Option "AccelMethod" "exa"
Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
Option "ExaNoComposite" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor[0]"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor[1]"
Option "DPMS"
Option "RightOf" "Monitor[0]"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Device "Device[0]"
Identifier "First"
Monitor "Monitor[0]"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
Virtual 2560 1024
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Device "Device[1]"
Identifier "Second"
Monitor "Monitor[1]"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
Virtual 2560 1024
EndSubSection
EndSection

The BoardName "915G" section is no longer correct - but it's just a label. Could say "foo" and it wouldn't matter. Your virtual desktop size should = (monitor 1 width (in pixels) + monitor 2 width) x height in pixels across both. In my case it's 2 Dell 19" FPs that max out at 1280 x 1024.

good luck.

shyamsg
November 26th, 2008, 11:51 PM
Thanks themtx.
This is a stupid question. How does xrandr decide what the maximum screen size is?

I tried this earlier but only the login screen came up correctly. the moment the x server started, there were only 2 blank screens. I tried xrandr and it said that the max size was 1600x1600 and I am not sure that I can change that.

Shyam

shyamsg
December 3rd, 2008, 07:14 PM
I was away for the thanksgiving break. I got back and tried a couple of things to no avail. I tried what themtx was suggesting. As mentioned in the previous post, xrandr says that I have a max screen size of 1600x1600, which prevents me from using the two monitors that I have in their 1280x1024 mode. I was able to do this in the hardy setup using xinerama and i810 drivers. Is there something else that I can try?

Shyam